Wednesday, December 25, 2013

Merry Christmas from Rg Lovecraft

I have been out of town visiting family for the holidays and sure to a laptop on the fritz, i have been unable to update, but I wanted to wish everyone a Scary Christmas and a Happy New Year! Hope everyone is enjoying this time with the ones that matter most, and that you all will enjoy a freaky flick or two before 2014.

Rg Lovecraft

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Elijah Wood Learns The True Meaning of Stage Fright in GRAND PIANO

I like classical music, Elijah Wood and thrillers, so combining all three should surely make for a great movie for me! Elijah Wood took the horror world by surprise earlier this year when he starred in the brutal remake of the controversial cult classic Maniac, and he's made it very clear that horror is going to be his new forte. The trailer for his latest film, Grand Piano, has hit the internet and I have to say, it looks pretty damn good. 

John Cusack is co-starring, who was pretty damn great in the adaptation of Stephen King's novella 1408. Magnet Releasing is behind distribution, and they have a very impressive horror roster behind their name. They've already released Bad Milo, the V/H/S franchise, Tucker and Dale vs. Evil, The Innkeepers, The ABC's of Death and John Dies at the End and that's just from the past couple years. 

Grand Piano tells the story of Tom Selznick (Elijah Wood), the most talented pianist of his generation, who has stopped performing in public because of his stage fright. Years after a catastrophic performance, he reappears in public for a long awaited concert in Chicago. In a packed theater, in front of an expectant audience, Tom finds a message written on the score: “Play one wrong note and you die.” In the sights of an anonymous sniper (Cusack), Tom must get through the most difficult performance of his life and look for help without being detected. - Shock 'til You Drop

The trailer looks amazing, but I'm excited to hear what YOU think.

Dig it!

Wood plays Tom Selznick, the most talented pianist of his generation, who has stopped performing in public because of his stage fright. Years after a catastrophic performance, he reappears in public for a long awaited concert in Chicago. In a packed theater, in front of an expectant audience, Tom finds a message written on the score: “Play one wrong note and you die.” In the sights of an anonymous sniper (Cusack), Tom must get through the most difficult performance of his life and look for help without being detected. - See more at:
Wood plays Tom Selznick, the most talented pianist of his generation, who has stopped performing in public because of his stage fright. Years after a catastrophic performance, he reappears in public for a long awaited concert in Chicago. In a packed theater, in front of an expectant audience, Tom finds a message written on the score: “Play one wrong note and you die.” In the sights of an anonymous sniper (Cusack), Tom must get through the most difficult performance of his life and look for help without being detected. - See more at:
Wood plays Tom Selznick, the most talented pianist of his generation, who has stopped performing in public because of his stage fright. Years after a catastrophic performance, he reappears in public for a long awaited concert in Chicago. In a packed theater, in front of an expectant audience, Tom finds a message written on the score: “Play one wrong note and you die.” In the sights of an anonymous sniper (Cusack), Tom must get through the most difficult performance of his life and look for help without being detected. - See more at:
Wood plays Tom Selznick, the most talented pianist of his generation, who has stopped performing in public because of his stage fright. Years after a catastrophic performance, he reappears in public for a long awaited concert in Chicago. In a packed theater, in front of an expectant audience, Tom finds a message written on the score: “Play one wrong note and you die.” In the sights of an anonymous sniper (Cusack), Tom must get through the most difficult performance of his life and look for help without being detected. - See more at:

The Mumblegore Crew Is Back With CHEAP THRILLS

I don't know why I haven't posted about this one before, I've been readin' about it for quite some time, but now that I've seen the trailer I HAVE to post about it.

E.L. Katz (writer: Popskull, Autopsy), is making his directorial debut with the Mumblegore crew and it looks AMAZING. Cheap Thrills, the dark-comedy thriller, stars Pat Healy (The Innkeepers), Sara Paxton (Last House on the Left, The Innkeepers), David Koechner (Anchorman) and Ethan Embry (That Thing You Do!, Vacancy) and is being released by Drafthouse Films. I love you, Alamo Drafthouse.

Craig (Pat Healy) is a struggling family man who loses his low-wage job and is threatened with eviction. In an effort to delay facing the music at home, he heads to a local bar and encounters an old friend (Ethan Embry). The two friends are roped into a round of drinks by a charismatic and obscenely wealthy stranger (David Koechner) along with his mysterious wife (Sara Paxton). The couple engages the two friends in a series of innocent dares in exchange for money over the course of the evening, with each challenge upping the ante in both reward and boundaries. It seems like easy and much needed money, but the couple’s twisted sense of humor pushes just how far Craig and his friend are willing to go for money and cheap thrills.

It appears to have all the charm, charisma and confidence that I love about a mumblegore flick, and the trailer proudly boasts the You're Next banner in it's opening sequence. I am excited to see EL Katz make his directorial debut, he's a great writer, and if this trailer is any indication, he will make a great director as well.  Check out the trailer below and catch in select theaters March 21st!

The War Begins In The First Trailer For DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES

We finally get to see Caesar in all of his war-painted glory in the first trailer for Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, the sequel to the prequel (Rise of the Planet of the Apes) of the great simian based franchise.

This was a lovely treat to wake up to, being a huge fan of the series, and it looks like it's going to be amazing!

Matt Reeves (Cloverfield) directs the film which stars Andy Serkis (Lord of the Rings), Gary Oldman (Harry Potter, The Dark Knight Rises) and Kodi Smit-McPhee (Let Me In).

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes tells the story of: “A growing nation of genetically evolved apes led by Caesar is threatened by a band of human survivors of the devastating virus unleashed a decade earlier. They reach a fragile peace, but it proves short-lived, as both sides are brought to the brink of a war that will determine who will emerge as Earth’s dominant species.

The trailer is painfully short, it's really more of a teaser, but we get to see the post-Apocalyptic world that the few surviving humans are forced to exist in while they take refuge from Caesar's ever growing army. It goes without saying who is going to win this war, but I am so excited to see how they go about winning it. I guess that makes me a species-traitor? Whatever. I love this franchise and I can't wait to see how it evolves next! Dig on the trailer below and sound off in the comments!

Monday, December 16, 2013

Henry Rollins Invades Horror In His Cannibalistic Horror HE NEVER DIED

Horror has become quite popular the world of pop culture, much like comic books have, in that even TV itself has been invaded by an influx of zombies, vampires, killers and demons. Elijah Wood has made it apparent that he wants to set his sights on the horror world (I LOVED him in the remake of Maniac) and now it looks like Henry Rollins is following in his footsteps. 

I am personally not a big fan of Rollins, he seems like an angry, spiteful little man, but I have to say, this looks like it could be pretty tasty. Filming has wrapped on He Never Died, a film in which he not only stars but also serves as Executive Producer. 

In the film, Rollins plays Jack, "a mysterious loner who has lived an inexplicably long life fueled by blood lust and filled with crime and violence. An exceptionally prolonged life has brought depression and detachment. Jack buys stolen blood from a hospital intern, plays bingo, sleeps fourteen hours a day, watches television six hours a day, and lives alone. This is his life – he has shelled himself away from social interactions. The fuse is lit when Jack's past comes back to rattle him. Jack must now walk a tight rope of sobriety and try to eat as few people as possible in this violent tale of personal responsibility and self worth. As it turns out, there are very few reasons to live when you can't die."

The plot reads like he could be a vampire, but it could also go into caniballistic territory. Of the two, I'm hoping for the latter, but we'll have to wait and see! For now, all we have are a few shots of Rollins all bloodied up and looking angry. 

The Tables Turn On Horror's Greatest Icons in SMOTHERED

I don't know if I've covered this on here yet, but if not, here it is and it looks pretty fun! Smothered, from director John Schneider, is an independent horror comedy that features the men behind some of the greatest horror films of all time and it finally has a trailer for us all to indulge in!

While the trailer looks a bit iffy at first in terms of low production quality, it looks like it'll be a fun movie for horror fans to rejoice over. Starring Bill Moseley (Otis in The Devil's Rejects and Chop-Top in The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2), Kane Hodder (Jason Voorhees in Friday the 13th VII - Jason X), RA Milhailoff (Leatherface in Leatherface: Texas Chainsaw Massacre III), Don Shanks (Michael Myers in Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers and Ben Willis in I Know What You Did Last Summer) and Malcolm Danare (Moochie Wells in Christine), the film is "a reverse of the classic horror film model.  Instead of a bunch of college aged girls getting slaughtered by men in masks, the film features men of the mask getting slaughtered by a beautiful young vixen."

This sounds awesome to me. Dig on the trailer below and let me know what you think in the comments!

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

HORROR ON BLU-RAY: WE ARE WHAT WE ARE Will Deliver The Goods On Blu-Ray And DVD January 7th!

I've been posting about this one for sometime, I am VERY excited about it's release so this news was extra sweet this morning! 

Jim Mickle's acclaimed new "masterpiece", We Are What We Are, is being released on DVD and Blu-Ray freash after the new year on January 7th. A new addition to the family of cannibal horror, this film has been getting rave review after rave review and is widely considered by many to be the best horror film of the year. 

A seemingly wholesome and benevolent family, the Parkers, have always kept to themselves, and for good reason. Behind closed doors, patriarch Frank rules his family with a rigorous ferver, determined to keep his ancestral customs intact at any cost.  As a torrential rainstorm moves into the area, tragedy strikes and his daughters Iris and Rose are forced to assume responsibilities that extend beyond those of a typical family. 

As the unrelenting downpour continues to flood their small town, the local authorities begin to uncover clues that bring them closer to the secret that the Parkers have held closely for so many years.

Michael Parks (Kill Bill, Twin Peaks), Kelly McGillis (Top Gun, Witness, The Innkeepers) and Kassie DePaiva (One Life to Live) all star in this riveting and terrifying remake of the Mexican thriller by the same name. 

The special features on the DVD/Blu-Ray will include:

- “An Acquired Taste: The Making of We Are What We Are’”
- Interviews with director Jim Mickle, cast members Bill Sage and Julia Garner
- Audio commentary with cast and crew

New Posters for DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES Go Tribal!

I am ever so excited about this film. While it may not be horror, I am a huge fan of the original 5 films, as well as the James Franco fronted reboot that came out a couple years ago. I choose not to think about Tim Burton's abortion. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is starting to look to be an INSANE addition to the franchise. Caesar looks pissed, and judging from these posters, he is the last dude you wanna piss off.

Andy Serkis, Gary Oldman, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Keri Russell and Jason Clarke all star in the sequel to the 2011 reboot. Check out the new one sheets below!

A growing nation of genetically evolved apes led by Caesar is threatened by a band of human survivors of the devastating virus unleashed a decade earlier. They reach a fragile peace, but it proves short-lived, as both sides are brought to the brink of a war that will determine who will emerge as Earth’s dominant species.

Stay tuned today for a lot of tasty news from across the interwebs, as well as a review of the 2006 French home invasion thriller Ils!

Tuesday, December 10, 2013


Folks, we live in the era of horror television. Some may consider it a blessing, others a curse, but it's where we're at, and NBC is continuing the trend with a miniseries based on the Satanic classic Rosemary's Baby.

Miniseries can sometimes work out great, depending on the source material, they can even work out better than the original. Although I there is no way that this miniseries can touch the impact that Roman Polanski's original film had, it gave me a bit more hope knowing that it would not be stretched into a full length series.

Based on Ira Levin's novel of the same name, the four-hour miniseries will be written by Scott Abbott and James Wong and produced by Lionsgate Television. 

Quinn Taylor, Executive Vice President, Movies, Miniseries and International Co-Productions at NBC Entertainment had this to say of the project: “Ira Levin’s mesmerizing book was a groundbreaking reflection on how effective and influential a psychological thriller could be. We’re looking forward to adapting his incredible work and bringing those indelible characters to a new generation of viewers.

Rosemary's Baby tells the story of a young couple who move into a lush New York City apartment only to realize that they're doting neighbors may have other intentions in mind when they seem a little too eager to help with the young wife's pregnancy. The original film starred Mia Farrow and John Cassavetes. 

It's Here! The First HD Teaser For GODZILLA Is Here!

Warner Bros. and Legendary Pictures has finally released the first HD teaser for Godzilla and it is just as monstrous as I was hoping it would be! It's very exciting to see a monster flick garnering so much attention, and if this teaser is any indication of how awesome it's going to be on the big screen then it looks like it will be a VERY different story from the Matthew Broderick debaucle of 1998.

Gareth Edwards directs, and the cast itself is quite impressive including Bryan Cranston in his first major role since Breaking Bad concluded (don't bring it up, I may start crying) in September. Other cast members include Elizabeth Olsen, Aaron Johnson, Juliette Binoche and David Strathairn.

Expect to see Gojira return in May of next year, on the 16th, to be precise.

Monday, December 9, 2013

ComiXology Celebrates The Holidays With 12 Days of Free Comics Starting With The Dark Knight!

Something that I've never really mentioned on here is that I am a pretty big comic book fan, in specific, Batman and X-Men. If you haven't been keeping up with the Batverse, and you are a horror fan, than I cannot recommend it enough as I've read and seen some stuff more terrifying in those comic books than I've seen on a screen in some time. 

I have actually been trying to post a review of the latest story arc, involving the demented return of Batman's arch nemesis, the Joker, entitled Death of the Family. It's way harder to post a review of 23 issues than it sounds, and while I will get it up eventually, it's a work in progress that has been rewritten several times. 

Regardless! ComiXology, in quite the amazing fashion, is sharing the holiday love by offering a new digital download of a popular comic EVERYDAY for twelve days! How are they starting it off, you may ask? Well, with none other than Batman #13, the first issue in the Death of the Family arc! I already got mind, head over and you can either gift it to a friend, or gift it to yourself. Either way, it is an absolute must read for the Batman fan or the horror fan.

Head here to snag your copy and head below for the press release! I can't wait to see what's coming tomorrow!

December 9th, 2013 – New York, NY – Today comiXology, the revolutionary cloud-based digital comics platform available across the iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle Fire, Windows 8, and, rings in the holidays by giving away a new free comic once a day for twelve days on the Web – we call it comiXology’s 12 Days of Free Comics. Come see what each day’s free comic is by visiting
And while you can enjoy a hot new comic from a surprise publisher every day, don’t forget that during these 12 Days of Free Comics you can also gift these amazing comics to friends, family, co-workers, and whoever is on your gift-giving list absolutely free!

“It’s been another banner year at comiXology and we want everyone to join us in these 12 Days of Free Comics as we give back to the fans that made this outstanding year possible,” said comiXology co-founder and CEO David Steinberger. “From launching comiXology Europe and comiXology Submit, reaching 200 million downloads less than a year after reaching 100 million, and much more, this year has been great – as thanks these free comics are for you.”

“Over the course of these 12 days we’re making holiday giving easier than it’s ever been,” said comiXology co-founder John D. Roberts. “These twelve days aren’t just to give back to the fans that have made comiXology so great but also to let those fans share the love of comics with everyone they know.”

ComiXology’s 12 Days of Free Comics will run from Monday, December 9th until Friday, December 20th with one new comic made free every day to download or to gift to anyone you choose. Check back each day at to see what is the new free comic of the day is during the 12 Days of Free Comics.

With over 40,000 comics and graphic novels from more than 75 publishers, comiXology offers the widest selection of digital comics in the world. ComiXology’s immense catalog and unique Guided View reading experience is available across the iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle Fire, Windows 8 and the Web – making it the best digital platform for comic and graphic novel fans worldwide.

DEVIL'S DUE Will Possess You With New Trailer and Motion Poster

Fear is something that has been utilized, not always as form of entertainment value either, for centuries, upon centuries, upon centuries. One of the oldest fears in human civilization has manfiested itself, and long withstood as a Godfather-status subgenre, within the horror genre since it's inception, and it's none other than good old fashioned devil-worship. It's something that, with the religious upbringing that my parents decided to raise me with, I will always be fascinated in, although I may not necessarily tremble in fear. The Devil just so happens to be an interesting dude.

From The Exorcist to The Omen to The Last Exorcism, he's all the rage, and he probably always will be. A new horror film has been making the rounds, and is on it's way to it's release date, that I think looks pretty interesting. While it looks to be far from an original film, Radio Silence's new Rosemary's Baby inspired Satanic flick entitled Devil's Due looks to be a promising occult based film that has the potential to be a great addition to horror's long line of Antichrist based films. The film made the rounds last week when it's controversial poster (used in the motion poster below) was banned in South America. 

Radio Silence, the team behind the final segment of V/H/S, are behind the Lindsay Devlin-penned flick with Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett directing for the team. 

Starring Allison Miller (Terra Nova) and Zack Gilford (Friday Night Lights), Devil's Due plot follows: "After a mysterious, lost night on their honeymoon, a newlywed couple finds themselves dealing with an earlier-than-planned pregnancy. While recording everything for posterity, the husband begins to notice odd behavior in his wife that they initially write off to nerves, but, as the months pass, it becomes evident that the dark changes to her body and mind have a much more sinister origin.

Check out a creepy motion poster from Bloody Disgusting and the trailer below.  

Drink The Kool-Aid On May 5th! Ti West's THE SACRAMENT Finally Gets Release Date!

If you're a big Ti West fan like I am than this is very happy news! The latest film House of the Devil director, Ti West, is set to hit VOD platforms on May 5th and enter a limited theatrical run on June 6th.

I love West's work; from the minute I watched House of the Devil and The Innkeepers, I knew he was my new favorite and gleaming hope for the horror genre. He's a real fan of the genre, and he doesn't let his ego get in the way of his work either. He makes real horror films for real horror fans. 

What makes this film exciting though is that not only is it directed by West and being produced by none other than the great and fearful Eli Roth (it feels good to be typing his name on here again), it boasts the some of the finest of the Mumblegore crew in the cast list as well. AJ Bowen (who's ramping up to be quite the new horror frontman), Joe Swanberg AND Amy Seimetz all star in the film, along with Kentucker Audley and No Country for Old Men's Gene Jones. 

“The Sacrament follows two Vice media correspondents as they set out to document their friend’s search to find his missing sister. They travel outside of the United States to an undisclosed location where they are welcomed into the world of “Eden Parish,” a self-sustained rural utopia comprised of nearly 200 members. At the centre of this small, religious, socialist community is a mysterious leader known only as “Father.” As their friend reunites with his sister, it becomes apparent to the newcomers that this paradise may not be as it seems. What started as just another documentary shoot soon becomes a race to escape with their lives.

Let us rejoice, y'all. The new year is amping up to be a great year for us. Keep it spooky!

- Rg Lovecraft

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Popular Creepy Pasta TED THE CAVER Gets Movie Treatment - LIVING DARK Slated For Early 2014 Release

A while back, a creepy pasta about a caver named Ted swept the internet, and continues to intrigue new readers to this day. Occasionally I go on creepy pasta binges, and this is one of the finest ones I've ever read so I was very interested to hear about this.

New Films International has slated Living Dark: The Story of Ted the Caver, a film based on the popular Ted the Caver story for a January 17th release, and to be honest, I can't believe that this is the first I'm hearing about it.

The synopsis, according New Films' site reads as follows: "Based on the popular "Ted the Caver" Internet urban legend, The Living Dark tells the story of two estranged brothers, reunited for their father's funeral. Attempting reconciliation, the brothers stumble upon the sealed entrance to a nearby cave, where they are slowly forced to confront the true, nightmarish cause of their father's death."

From the trailer it seems like maybe the film takes place before the events of Ted the Caver? It's hard to tell but it doesn't seem to be the same events.

The film's site goes on to say that Living Dark is a film much more in "the tradition of classic Hollywood horror movies", and cites The Exorcist, Jaws and Rosemary's Baby as examples, with "emphasis on story instead of buckets of blood and gore". 

That sounds reassuring, as we can clearly see in the trailer that we will be seeing whatever was in the cave that Ted painstakingly describes in his online journal. The true fear and terror of the creepy pasta is not knowing what the hell is actually going on in the cave, so there are already rumblings on Reddit about seeing the "creature". 

Either way, you can see the trailer below. If you have not read the creepy pasta, head HERE, clear out an hour or two and dig in, it's worth it! And as always, sound off in the comments. Keep it spooky.

- Rg Lovecraft

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Own CARRIE On DVD And Blu-ray On January 14th; PLUS Blu-ray Features Alternate Ending

The year's Halloween haunt this year was none other than the re-imagining of Brian DePalma's iconic psychic horror film Carrie, and now you can own it on DVD and Blu-ray in just a little over a month. 

The film, directed by Kimberly Peirce (Boys Don't Cry), stars Chloe Grace Moretz as the terribly shy and awkward Carrie White who is sheltered and abused by her religious zealot of a mother (played by Julianne Moore). This marks the second adaptation (and fourth film based off) of legendary horror writer Stephen King's debut novella.

Check out the special features below: 

Blu-ray Special Features:

  • Feature Film With Alternate Ending
  • “Bringing Back Carrie” Featurette
  • Deleted/Extended Scenes with Commentary by Director Kimberly Peirce    
  • Commentary by Director Kimberly Peirce    
  • The Power of Telekinesis    
  • Telekinetic Coffee Shop Surprise    
  • Theatrical Trailer

 DVD Special Features:    

  • “Bringing Back Carrie” Featurette    
  • Telekinetic Coffee Shop Surprise    
  • Theatrical Trailer

V/H/S/2 (2013) - A Review

Boy, am I ever late to the train on this one. Regardless, here it is and I’m glad to be reviewing it. 

I’ve also realized that I have not posted a review since Gravity, and that breaks my little heart. The past few weeks have been rough but I am very excited to be getting back into it. Once I get a new laptop (which should hopefully be very soon) you guys will be getting too much of me, so I bet you’re just so excited about that as well. 

Regardless, enough yammering, I am even boring myself. Here we GO. 

Last year, was a big year in the world of horror anthologies. Not only did we get ABC’s of Death (review), we got my personal favorite of the year, V/H/S. Produced by Brad Miska and directed, written and starring the newest up and comers in the world of horror, the Mumblegore Crew, it is a fantastic found-footage film that chronicles 5 stories of death and desperation. I loved it, and was naturally very excited when it was announced that a follow up to the film would be released in 2013. I’ll admit, I was very late to the game in seeing this one. Due to a mixture of a faulty computer set up and a bunked up schedule that did not allow me to catch any screenings of it, I was finally able to settle in for a viewing when it was released on Netflix earlier this week. 

Could Chucky Be Back AGAIN? CHILD'S PLAY 7 Is On The Drawing Board

This has to be one of the most unlikely events to come from the world of horror in a very long time. I can't think of another franchise that, after laying dormant for so long, was brought back to life with such fervor. While it has yet to be greenlit by Universal, Don Mancini (the creator of the Child's Play franchise) has hinted that he's already getting to work on a seventh installment in the killer doll franchise.

This is just wild to me. Yes, the Big 3 have all gotten their reboots (Halloween, NOES, Friday the 13th) but they were largely panned by critics and fans. This is different. Not only did we get Brad Dourif back in the titular role, but we also have Mancini working on the project. With films like this, it's all about the roots, which is why the horror world almost soiled themselves when Clive Barker began on his quest to bring back the Cenobites, including Doug Bradley.

Either way, exciting news. I think Curse of Chucky will be on my viewing list tonight.

Check It Out! First Look At Daniel Radcliffe As Igor In 20th Century Fox's FRANKENSTEIN

It wasn't really all that shocking when word was leaked that Daniel Radcliffe was going after a role in the newly announced Twentieth Century Fox adaptation of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. What was shocking was that he was going after the role of Igor, and not the good doctor. I've been excited to see stuff start to leak out of the cracks for this one. With all of the strange adaptations of the Frankenstein story that have been coming out over the past year, I'm excited about a more traditional take on the tale. 

Radcliffe will be playing alongside James McAvoy (X-Men: First Class) and Jessica Brown Findlay (Downtown Abbey).

Well, here's the first peek at him as the hunchbacked (?) lab assistant:

Monday, December 2, 2013

I, FRANKENSTEIN Gets UNDERWORLD Treatment in It's First TV Spot

Mary Shelley's Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus is one of the great horror novelizations of all time, perhaps even the greatest, in my humble opinion. Written on a dreary summer's day at Lord Byron's estate on Lake Geneva, it became a heart breaking that has been told a million different ways in a thousand different formats.

I, Frankenstein, starring Aaron Eckhart and Bill Nighy, just got it's first TV spot. I'm not sure if they told Lakeshore (producers for Underworld) that they weren't making another Underworld flick.The Australian flick hits the big screen (even IMAX) on January 24, 2014.

200 years after his shocking creation, Dr. Frankenstein’s creature, Adam, still walks the earth. But when he finds himself in the middle of a war over the fate of humanity, Adam discovers he holds the key that could destroy humankind.

FOREIGN HORROR NEWS: Takashi Miike Is Back With A Brand New "Fight-to-the-Death" Gorefest!

If you consider yourself a horror fan and you don't know who Takashi Miike is, you're doing something wrong. Go home and rent Audition on Amazon and savor it. You can thank me later.

Miike is, pretty much, the Japanese Gore God. He has put things on film that rival the beauty of a Kubrick of a film in it's artistic execution, as well as the blood splatter of Eli Roth, Alexandre Aja and Quentin Tarantino combined. The man is a horror genius and I love him. 

After his last film, Shield of Straw, he has begun work on a new film and it sounds badass. Most people are going crazy over Hunger Games, however I thought it was quite tame and boring as I'm privy to it's predecessor and obvious inspiration, Kinji Fukasaku's Battle Royale. Now, they both have some serious competition in the "teenage kids beating the shit out of each other until one is left standing" arena: Takashi Miike's As God Says

Even the name sounds epic. HERE'S WHAT WE KNOW:

1. Miike is adapting the film from a popular comic.

2. Sota Fukushi is set to star "as an ordinary teen whose world is suddenly turned upside down one day, as he and his classmates find themselves caught up in a game whose penalty is death."

3. Miike is quoted as saying, of the story, “They live, some heads roll, they run, blood sprays, they cry, they laugh and then they die – in other words, a fun movie.

4. Principal photography starts in June, for a fall 2014 release. 

5. It's going to be badass.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013


I remember a huge turning point for me, when I went from being scared stiff to absolutely entranced by horror movies, was when I began to have this unexplainable feeling and desire to learn everything I could about the horror movies that I was beginning to love, as opposed to despise. I spent hours watching the special features and documentaries on films like The Omen and The Exorcist, and I can safely say that this is something that has never really changed with me. I still spend hours watching YouTube videos of behind the scenes footage, make up tests, camera tests, anything I can feast my eyes on. 

I was very excited to hear about this, K. John McDonagh has begun production on what will be the most in depth and prolific Hellraiser documentary ever released. Entitled Leviathan: The Story of Hellraiser & Hellbound: Hellraiser 2, the documentary will take you behind the scenes of the two greatest films of the franchise (as well as two of the greatest films in horror history) by bringing back key members of the cast and crew for interviews and stories. Simon Bamford, Barbie Wilde, Nicholas Vince, Oliver Parker, Christopher Figg, Geoff Portass, Roy Pudefoot, Cliff Wallace, Mark Coulier, John Midgley, and many more are set to make appearances. 

Leviathan: The Story of Hellraiser and Hellbound: Hellraiser II is a feature length documentary uncovering the history, making of and unknown details of the making of Clive Barker’s Hellraiser and Hellbound: Hellraiser II films.

With interviews and testimonies from those most closely involved, we hope to bring a comprehensive insight to these classic cult films.

Following the story of the films from their inception through production to release and the their subsequent lives and growing fan base, we aim to show fans and those less familiar with the films both the technical skills, the creative idea, the symbolism and the legacy of these movies.

Delving deep into the director’s vision and ambitions for the project we’ll be exploring where he came from, where his career had taken him and the inspiration for the story and world he created. We’ll be telling the story of his journey of making them and how close they came to his vision at the time and how he feels about them over 25 years later.

I'm surprised to see that Doug Bradley's has not been attached yet, but I feel that it's pretty safe to say that we will see the man himself sharing plenty of stories from behind the pins. I can't wait to see how this comes along, and you too can keep up with the news at the film's website and Facebook page

HELLBENDERS Finally Receives Release Date! Blu-Ray and DVD on February 18th!

I love, love, love me a good horror/comedy. A lot of people hate them, but there's something special about laughing your ass off while people are mercilessly butchered that just warms the heart. If you've seen Tucker & Dale vs. Evil or The Cabin in the Woods then you can probably relate to what I'm saying, as I don't know anybody who disliked either of those films. 

You've probably seen me mention this one on here before, I have been very excited to get my hands on this one (same with Bad Milo, however I've been too lazy to rent the damn thing from Amazon), but Hellbenders is coming to 3D Blu-Ray and HD DVD on February 18th, 2014! I have loved everything I've seen about this movie thus far, it looks like an amazing mix between Bad Santa and The Exorcist

Directed by J.T. Petty and starring Clifton Collins Jr. (Pacific Rim), Clancy Brown (Cowboys and Aliens) and Andre Royo (HBO’s “The Wire”): “There are demons so terrible that no mortal man of God could successfully drive them back to Hell. The only option is for the exorcist himself to invite possession and then commit suicide, dragging along the demon to damnation – so the Augustine Interfaith Order of Hellbound Saints – or Hellbenders – was formed. A group of elite, highly-trained exorcists, they live in a constant state of debauchery so they will be ready to go to Hell at any moment. When an infernal Norse demon called BLACK SURTR escapes into New York City intent on cracking open the gates of Hell, the Hellbenders must use every ounce of their debauchery to battle the demon and save the planet from eternal damnation!

Jason Voorhees - Back From The Dead Again? New Reboot Coming in 2015

This news can be looked at in a variety of ways, but whichever way you look at it, it's happening. Paramount Pictures has announced yet another reboot to the infamous Friday the 13th franchise, slated for release on March 13, 2015 (the first Friday the 13th of 2015). 

Jason was last seen on the big screen in Marcus Nispel's reboot in 2009. While the critics largely lauded it (then again, who cares what they say), it still scraped in over $90 million world wide. While there is very little known about this new addition, what we do know is that it is not a sequel to the reboot but another reboot itself, and that Paramount is tossing around the idea of a found footage concept for the film. 

As always, we are stuck in the "wait and see" game. 

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Romero's DAY OF THE DEAD Gets Re-remade With The Help of Mark Tonderai

Well, remakes are not exactly the most uncommon thing in the world of horror, however, remakes of remakes, now that's... new? Some of you might remember back in 2008 when Millenium released the Steve Miner directed attempt at Romero's eponymous Day of the Dead (read my review of Romero's classic here). It didn't exactly go over so well. So I guess Millenium wants to take another stab at the film, as they've announced the green light on yet another attempt at remaking the film, this time with House at the End of the Street director Mark Tonderai. 

To be honest? This news is so subpar, I might just be lulled off to sleep by it. Mark Tonderai has done little to really contribute (or even come close to making his mark) in the world of horror, so to be taking on a film like this is quite the feat. His one film, House at the End of the Street is mediocre at best and I'm saying that while putting general dislike for Jennifer Lawrence aside. 

So, will Bub rise again? What are your thoughts on this? Mine are very mixed, as Day is literally one of the three or four zombie movies that I actually like.

Monday, November 25, 2013

10 Facts You May Not Have Known About THE SHINING

Back on October 30th, I had the opportunity to see my personal favorite film on the big screen for the first time, and what an experience it was. To experience The Exorcist in that fashion was a beautiful experience, but The Shining… that was borderline religious. I spent All Hallows Eve with a packed house of eager faced people, some who had never seen the film, others just as big a fan as I am, and the Torrance family, and it could not have been more perfect. 

I had yet to see it in this format, it’s true format, and after seeing The Exorcist, I couldn’t wait. In honor of that, let’s take a look at the iconic film by Stanley Kurbick and some facts about the film that may surprise you.

Now, I’ve been wanting to write a series about King for a while. I’m sure a few of you may remember me discussing this a while back, but it’s been a daunting task. I mean, I have so many thoughts about his work, that’s it’s hard to express in a length that would be tolerable to read. You can absolutely expect a very in depth analysis of this film in the future, but for now, let’s celebrate it with this list of facts and trivia about the 1980 classic.

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Jeepers Creepers 3 Moves Forward! Will Creature Features Find Their Way Back to the Big Screen?

So, in the past few weeks since I've been gone there has been a flurry of news surrounding several different huge announcements. This is one of them. A couple weeks ago, rumors started making the rounds that there would be a third installment in the Jeepers Creepers franchise. I am all about this. Jeepers Creepers is a fun, creature feature inspired flick that has all the chills of a classic monster movie with the gritty, grotesque aesthetic of Texas Chain Saw Massacre

Last week, STYD announced that there were some rumblings come from the Victor Salva camp, who directed the first 2 films, claiming that a third film could be going before the cameras soon. Now, Bloody-Disgusting is stating that it is in fact happening, we'll see returning cast as well! 

Ray Wise is set to return, in addition to The Creeper himself (Jonathan Breck) and Gina Harris.

While it's shocking that such a distant franchise is being rebooted, I can't say that I'm not excited. I liked the first two, and I feel that they're largely overlooked as solid horror flicks.

- Rg Lovecraft

Bill Moseley is Slashing His Way Back Into the Spotlight in "The Summer I Died"

Bill Moseley. We all love him. From Choptop to Otis Driftwood, the man is a horror visionary and an absolute favorite of mine. While he hasn't done too much lately (aside from the ill-fated Manson Girls), word has just broke that he has been signed on in the lead role of Riothouse Entertainment's adaptation of Ryan C. Thomas' novel The Summer I Died

Moseley will be playing another psychopathic killer, only referred to as "Skinny Man" by the characters, in the film. What is described as visceral and extremely violent (so much so that it is considered one of the most violent and disturbing novels of all time), the novel “tells the story of Roger and Tooth: two lifelong friends who, while out on a day trip into the woods, find themselves at the mercy of a sadistic madman and his bloodthirsty dog when attempting to rescue a woman screaming for help.

Eric Pereira, who's film American Girls is currently making the festival rounds, will be heading up the project in directorial duties with casting to be complete by the end of the year and principal photography to begin in February. 

Who's excited to see the master back on the screen? Heaven knows I am. 

- Rg Lovecraft

Monday, November 18, 2013

The Sunshine Award

So funny things can happen sometimes. As I posted last week (in my apology for being absent the past few weeks), I have been crazy busy with moving. I am in the final stages of getting settled into the new place, and this morning when I finally settle in to check backed up e-mails and comments I see that I am now the grateful recipient of the Sunshine Blogger Award

This is my first blogging award, and I am very excited to have finally received one so I would like to extend a huge thank you to Warden Stokely, who was gracious enough to share the love with me. Read on below for a little Q&A action with yours truly:

The Rules:
1. Include the award's logo in a post or on your blog 2. Link to the person who nominated you 3. Answer 10 questions about yourself 4. Nominate 10 Bloggers 5. Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they have been nominated

1. How long have you been doing this, and when did you launch?
I launched on April 1st of this year. My inaugural post was a review of Fede Alvarez' Evil Dead, so the site sat dead until April 12th when the review went up. I was also originally running it on Tumblr, but quickly moved over here to Blogger which I far prefer now that I'm on it.

2. Most pleasant blogging surprise:
The pure and unadulterated joy that this is bringing back into my life. At times, I feel like I'm 13 years old again, when horror films went from ungodly and terrifying to having a certain allure. I feel my passion and love for the genre reignited every time I sit down to write an article or review, and that alone has been the most satisfying of this thus far.

3. Most hard won blogging wisdom
I would have to say that would be finding that fine line between being unbiased and still injecting enough of your own opinion into the material to keep your readers interested in your reviews/articles. As bloggers, we cannot be completely unbiased. We are people, and readers seek out our opinions because they are just that, OUR opinions.

4. Topic of your favorite post
That is a hard one, however I think it may have to go to my Classic Review of The Exorcist. It is the only film that I have ever given a perfect 10/10 to, and I don't think I will ever give that rating to another. It started out as a basic enough review, and quickly turned into a love letter filled with gushings about all of the aspects that I love and, in my humble opinion, make the film perfect. This was continued in an entry I posted last month, after seeing the film on the big screen at Arclight Cinemas in Sherman Oaks, CA.

5. Favorite movie franchise This is tough for me as I am not generally a fan of franchises. Rarely are they strong from start to finish, but there is one that stands out in my mind above the rest (I am knowingly avoiding Evil Dead and Re-Animator as those can go without saying), and that is Wes Craven's seminal horror franchise - Scream. This may be the first time I say it on this blog (as I have feared sure-to-come lynching), but I am not a huge fan of his Elm Street franchise. Scream, however, is not only of my all time favorite films, but also one of my all-time favorite franchises. While the earlier are stronger than the latter, it is still a solid franchise from start to finish.
6. Favorite animal?
I saw this question when Warden answered it and I still have no idea how to answer it myself. I believe I am going to have to go with dogs. 

I talk horror, not animals, sorry for the incredibly obvious answer.

7. Recent movie you most feel the need to re-evaluate?
I have been struggling (perhaps that's a strong word) with The Conjuring since I saw it for the first time a few weeks ago. I feel I need to give it a second watch to be able to fully come to terms with how I'm feeling about it, I will say though that I think it was Wan's strongest effort yet in that I didn't completely hate him after watching it. 

8. Favorite band
I think it will always be safe to say that The Beatles will be my favorite band. They have been there when I needed a laugh, a cry, a dance or a shake. I would have to say that The Foo Fighters would be a close second.

9. Favorite movie to subject straights to even though I’m almost certain they won’t enjoy it?
Oh my, well there's no doubt about it: Killer Klowns from Outer Space. Every time. I love the looks that I get from people after having shown them that film, and getting the inevitable question, "How can you like that!?". It makes me laugh every time. I suppose Creepshow and Evil Dead 2 are close seconds.

10. Favorite movies to subject straights to because I’m certain they will enjoy it? 
I believe it depends on their taste, so generally I will ask them what style of film they generally enjoy and go off of that. I've found that The Devil's Rejects and Scream tend to go well though. 

Now it's my turn to pick some lovelies to bestow a little sunshine on, and I'm going to send out some love to all of my followers. Thanks for reading guys, it means a lot, and as this award is all about spreading awareness of eachother's blogs, here ya go! I'll extend a huge thank you to Warden, once again for nominating me, as well as Grimm for being a faithful reader! I would include you, however you've already won!

As always everybody, keep it spooky...

- Rg Lovecraft