Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Shocking News from EVIL DEAD Camp - Fede Alvarez Will NOT Be Returning To Direct EVIL DEAD 2


Talk about news that slaps you across the face and calls you a little bitch... In April, when Evil Dead shook the masses in all it's bloody glory, it seemed inevitable with little question that Evil Dead 2 would soon be underway with the new comer Fede Alvarez back behind the camera to show us what happens to Mia. Alvarez had been talking heavily about how the script was already well underway and even went out of his way to start rumors that the two worlds of Evil Dead, both old and new, could eventually meet in a horror collision for the masses.  

I guess that was all fluff talk, because today, Rodo Sayagues (co-writer of Evil Dead) announced that the sequel was not happening, and he did so quite definitively:

Look, I am sorry to tell you this but that movie won’t happen. Evil Dead 2 is not going to happen, at least not with us involved. We left that project many months ago because we preferred to put our energies on other things. I don’t know if the producers still have intentions of making it. But what I can tell you is that we are not part of that project," he explained to Gorosito TV. 

Now I'm sure that there are a lot of you out there rejoicing that this project is moving forward, but I would be bold-face lying if I said that I wasn't a bit crushed right now. It feels like we got teased in a huge way, and then just dropped flat on our faces. I don't think I'll know what to think until Alvarez says something about this himself, but I'll tell you what, it certainly makes the guy come off as somewhat of an asshole. 

- Rg Lovecraft

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

FUN FIND - Batman In Classic Movie Scenes: Halloween Edition


This is one of my favorite YouTube series. The title pretty much sums it up, it's Batman in various classic films! However they do this it's amazingly done, and always hilarious. This one is right up my alley though, as Batman traverses some of the great horror classics to bring you a fun, Halloween treat. Check it out below!


More HELLRAISER News Trickles Down From Clive Barker's Camp


Bloody Disgusting reported today that, in a completely unsurprising turn of events, the remake of Hellraiser currently being penned by original creator, Clive Barker, will in fact be rated R. Now, just take a second and picture a Hellraiser with a rating of PG-13. Makes ya feel funny, doesn't it? Well thank God that ain't gonna happen, but with all of the other doubts surrounding this one that is one that never crossed my mind.

Barker elaborated on his Facebook page, where all of this news is emanating from: “As questions are asked I’ll do my best to answer them, though as you all know making movies is a volatile art, and things seldom remain fixed. One question regarding the rating has been asked. I asked it too, and Dimension confirmed that they are purely interested in an R-rated picture."

In another interesting bit of news, when asked why he isn't embarking on an original artistic endeavor, he had this to say: “Somebody else asked why I’m not writing something original. The answer is that I am. After Hellraiser I intend to write and direct a completely new horror movie, which will mingle graphic horror and erotic content, to create an unrated film which will push the envelope of extreme content further than ever…

Now that I am very interested in seeing. 

But folks, let's keep something in mind. BD posted an editorial about this last week and I think it needs to be said across all mediums that are reporting news of the potential Hellraiser remake. This is not official. Nothing is set in stone. That being said, this is merely news of an idea that has been pitched, and Pinhead is not officially out of development hell yet. In the past week since this news has been announced I have been approached my hoardes of friends, and co-workers (all people who know my love for his film, and have love for it themselves) asking my thoughts on the matter, and I've told them the same thing. While it's very exciting that Dimension bit on the pitch, that doesn't mean anything. Think about the countless other films (especially horror) that were going to happen and then just fell by the wayside. 

Doug Bradley himself took to Facebook to share his thoughts on the matter as well: 

"Hi everyone! Just arrived in Orlando for Spooky Empire, to be greeted by the news via Clive Barker’s Facebook that he is writing a new Hellraiser script and intends that I should play Pinhead again. This is intriguing news, about which I know absolutely nothing. No one has contacted or spoken to me about returning. So until you hear from me to the contrary, assume that all rumors about me returning as Pinhead are only rumors.

Peace & Pain.

-Doug

This, of course, doesn't mean you should keep your fingers crossed. I want to see Pinhead up on the bigscreen just as much as the next guy, but we can't get too ahead of ourselves. That will only lead us towards disappointment and pain (but maybe that's what Pinhead wants anyway). 

- Rg Lovecraft

HERE COMES THE DEVIL Looks Terrifyingly Relentless


Mexican horror has really been up and coming lately. Breaking waves was Jorge Michel Grau's We Are What We Are in 2010 (Jim Mickle's remake is getting rave reviews), now we have Here Comes The Devil from director Adrian Garcia Bogliano. 

A terrifying tale that appears to be drawing from the aesthetic influence of early horror films such as The Hills Have Eyes and Dawn of the Dead: "A married couple loses their children while on a family trip near some caves in Tijuana. The kids eventually reappear without explanation, but it becomes clear that they are not who they used to be, that something terrifying has changed them."

 Starring Francisco Barreiro, Laura Caro, Alan Martinez and Michele Garcia, the film first made rounds at TIFF (the Toronto International Film Festival) but is slated for an American release on December 13th of this year. Head below for a peek at the NSFW trailer and an equally awesome poster!

 


Monday, October 28, 2013

An Evening With Pazuzu - A Love Letter to Horror


Last night I had the wonderful oppurtunity to watch The Exorcist on a projector screen for the first time in my life, in all of it's nasty glory. I've been looking forward to it for weeks, and it did far from disappoint, not to mention the fact that it was "The Version You've Never Seen" made it that much more fun. Horror movies are meant to be seen in a theater; on a big screen with a good sound system, comfy chair and plenty of attentive faces pointed at the screen, yours only a dot in the sea of them. Last night was an amazing experience for me for a variety of reasons, getting the to see the film in a theater was only one, but it showed me a lot about the horror genre and how it still stands up in today's society.

Walking into that theater, I had a lot of thoughts going through my head mainly focused on what the audience reaction was going to be. Would the scariest film of all time still hold up? Would there be laughs and guffaws at the intended terror? Or was everyone there to watch an old classic they've seen a dozen times, only in a better setting and in it's proper format? The answers to those questions left me pleasantly surprised.

I am sure that if you are reading this right now that you consider yourself a fan of the horror genre, so I don't think I have to get into the semantics of what this particular film means to the horror community. There will never be another like it. While, yes, there have been films like A Serbian Film (which are pure schlock), they simply cannot be compared to a film with this kind of magnitude and wide spread mass appeal. This one holds a very special place in my heart, because it was one of the first horror films that swept the world and became a test of endurance. Could you make it through The Exorcist? Men crying like women, women fainting like children and children having nightmares from the schoolyard whispers that passed in it's wake, The Exorcist from then on cemented itself as a fixture of modern popular culture.


I arrived to the theater last night (thanks to traffic) 15 minutes before showtime. In Los Angeles there are a chain of upscale movie theaters called ArcLight Cinemas. With assigned seating, a bar in the lobby and no previews, it's the place to see a movie (for an inflated cost, of course). After grabbing a water, and settling into seat K16, the show started almost as if on cue and we were rolling. What I was greeted to in the first five minutes was exactly what I had been hoping for. You could have heard a pin drop in that theater. There was no crunching of popcorn, no throats that needed clearing, no laughter or jeering. Dead silence, and that is the way it remained for a majority of the film. To hear that during a film like this, it's just wonderful. There was no divided attention, everyone's eyes were fixed on that screen as if their lives depended on it.

One thing that I did not anticipate was how many people in that theater had clearly not seen the film, which I found fantastic. I love watching this one with people for the first time and if I could show it to them in a theater every time, I would. The poor woman sitting next to me, I feared, was on the verge of a heart attack through out the duration of the film. While yes, there were one or two women who resumed the role of cynic, making it a point to laugh at certain parts of the film that were intended to scare (and I believe that these people are the bain of the earth, I get angry thinking about them now), I believe they got a stare down from a couple sitting next to me (and I'd be lying if I said I didn't turn around and glare a bit) which got the point across just fine.

You've heard me say it once, and I have no intention on stopping, but sound design can make or break a horror film. The sound design in The Exorcist is perfection. You can barely even say that it has a soundtrack (aside from Tubular Bells) considering it consists of a conglomeration of unidentifiable slaps, percussive hits, string plucks and screeches, and wailing voices. To be in a theater that is equipped with a state of the art surround sound system was an absolute treat. I've seen this film dozens of times, yet, I found myself with my hand over my chest at certain parts.

I have to say my favorite part of the whole experience though was observing the way the audience was adjusting and reacting to the film. I was beginning to get a little disheartened after the first 15 minutes or so of the film. There were too many jeers for my taste, it was beginning to impede on my experience of the film, and I'm talking laughter at parts that left me wondering what was funny to be laughed at in the first place. However, when we reached the infamous scene in Act II where Regan asks her sweet mother to let the Lord Jesus go to town on her, there was in instantaneous mood shift in the theater. You could feel fear enter the theater and it was an incredible experience. I don't think I'll ever forget the collective sigh that emanated following the administration of sedatives, along with groans and shivers that mixed with Regan's dying scream. That was when I knew that this audience was along for the ride, and from there on out there was no more jeering; it was us, Pazuzu and Father Merrin.

To know that this film still has that impact is such an incredible thing to me; it's something that I've debated with friends over. To be able to witness this film scare a generation of 30+ year olds who have never seen it before, was a beautiful experience. This film is, and will always be, one that I wish I could experience in 1974 when it was literally causing people to pass out and vomit in the aisles.


Last night, I went to church, and it was a beautiful reminder of why I love this genre and why I've devoted 13+ years of my life to learning as much as I can about it.

Next up: The Shining at the Cinerama Dome on All Hallow's Eve, and I can't wait. 

- Rg Lovecraft

Sunday, October 27, 2013

Sam Raimi Confirmed as Director of ARMY OF DARKNESS 2!


Happy Sunday everyone! Seeing as last night was Halloween Party night of the year, I hope that most of you are still alive. I myself had a great night, playing some rock and roll for a party full of tipsy, costumed party goers. Tonight, I'll be seeing The Exorcist on the big screen, and I got to wake up to this wonderful tid bit of news!

It has been confirmed that Sam Raimi will be resuming his position in the directors chair for the return of his iconic Evil Dead franchise. While the news didn't come from Raimi directly, it did come from Fede Alvarez (director of this year's Evil Dead), and seeing as he's pretty much been adopted into the whole ED camp, it's safe to say that this is a reliable source. 

Fede took to Twitter and made the announcement in response to a fan asking if he'll be taking on directorial duties for the much anticipated sequel. His response: "Sam Raimi will!".

Well folks, it looks like this might actually happen.


Friday, October 25, 2013

Holy HELLRAISER, Clive Barker Is BACK And He's Bringing Doug Bradley With Him!


So this weeks kicks off with amazing news, and ends with amazing news (let's forget the terrible nougat of meat in the middle). Good god almighty, I couldn't be more excited to announce this on here. 

There's something called in the horror industry, lovingly referred to as development hell, in which hopeful films-to-be never see their way out of. Unfortunately, after the last four Hellraiser films, and especially Revelations, Pinhead has been dwelling in that very place for years.  Meanwhile fans have been clamoring for Doug Bradley to don the pins and terrify us once again in a true-to-the-original re-imagining of the hellish world we all visited since 1987. 

Well my friends, by beautiful, beautiful, friends, according to Clive Barker's Facebook he HIMSELF is embarking on the quest to unleash Pinhead from development hell and he's making sure that Doug Bradley is the one (and the only one) who will be feasting on our suffering.

He wrote an open letter to his fans, which you can read below, which discusses how this has come to be but I'm warning you, you may want to have a tissue on hand because it's just so damn beautiful: 

HOT FROM HELL! My friends,I have some news which may be of interest to you. A few weeks ago I had a very productive meeting with Bob Weinstein of Dimension Pictures, in the course of which I pitched a remake of the first ‘Hellraiser’ film. The idea of my coming back to the original film and telling the story with a fresh intensity-honoring the structure and the designs from the first incarnation but hopefully creating an even darker and richer film-was attractive to Dimension.

Today I have officially been invited to write the script based upon that pitch.

What can I tell you about it?

Well, it will not be a film awash with CGI. I remain as passionate about the power of practical make-up effects as I was when I wrote and directed the first ‘Hellraiser’. Of course the best make-up in the world loses force if not inhabited by a first-rate actor. I told the Dimension team that in my opinion there could never be a Pinhead without Doug Bradley, and much to my delight Bob Weinstein agreed. So once the papers are signed, I will open a Lemarchand Configuration, dip my quill in its contents and start writing.

I promise that there will be nowhere on the Internet where the news of my progress will be more reliable than here, because the only author of these reports will be Your Infernal Corespondent, me. My very best wishes to you all, my friends.

Clive.

Give me a minute while I collect myself. The Horror Gods have been good to us this week. Army of Darkness 2 AND Hellraiser? What's next, Scream 5? Good things do come, and my god, are they coming in droves this week. 

We will see Pinhead again, in all of his BDSM glory! 

Cheers my friends, as always, keep it spooky,

Rg Lovecraft

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Lovecraft Rants - Fan Gets Throat Slit at Broken Hope Gig

 
As the only writer and contributor to this here little blog, you guys are going to get to know a lot about me. Atleast a lot about my opinions and my thoughts. Occasionally I will dig deeper and share a little bit more about myself, when I feel that something heavy, or important, enough warrants it. Today is one of those days. 

I was born and raised in the west Texas town of El Paso, and last night something horrible happened there.

According to Loudwire: "Disturbing news to report from Deicide and Broken Hope‘s El Paso, Texas, show last night (Oct. 22). According to Broken Hope, a fan’s throat was slashed with a box cutter during the band’s set." 

The 25 year veteran metal band, Broken Hope went on to state via social media: "BROKEN HOPE just learned a fan got their throat cut with a box cutter during BROKEN HOPE’s set tonight in El Paso. Cops and paramedics are all over the place. Please send warm wishes to this fan."

While I've seen conflicting stories on whether it happened during Broken Hope's or Deicide's set, it does not change the fact that it happened. According to local El Paso news channel KTSM, a fight broke out in which the fan was stabbed with a box cutter. Two people were rushed to the hospital and as of this morning are in critical condition.
 
WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE? This breaks my heart for a number of reasons because I feel that we should be past things like this. In a genre of music that has already been decimated by so many horrible events (Dimebag Darrell, The Station Nightclub) why do people continue to feed into the horrible stigma?

This feeds into many aspects of my life; even more so than the fact that this happened in my hometown, I am also a musician, and when things like this happen it shakes me to my core. I make music to foster happiness, joy and to put a smile on people faces. I cannot imagine what I would do if something like this was to happen at one of my shows. I certainly wouldn't be continuing on to play another show in Dallas the next night, the way Broken Hope and Deicide are. I would be fucking devastated.

I think about how many shows like this that I went to go see when I was growing up in El Paso, how many times that I myself saw Deicide and what would have happened if this had happened one of those times. It infuriates me, it makes me angry at the people who would do this; at how selfish and disgusting someone must be to carry a box cutter (of all things) into a concert venue. Why would anyone take a box cutter into a venue, if not with the intention of causing bodily harm with it? I understand someone carrying a pocket knife on their person, but a box cutter?

I'm sorry for ranting and raving, I doubt many of you have even made it this far down, but this has just made me sick to my stomach. It makes me sick for my hometown, it gives me a hatred for the piece of shit kind of people that would do this to someone, and I struggle not to let it make me think worse of the bands. This was not the bands fault, this was their fucking idiot fan's fault, and I just hope that this doesn't turn into another witchhunt, as Deicide claims to be a Satanic band. 

Please keep this fan in your thoughts, and please, please be safe you all. You never know what some sick fuck out there might be capable of doing. 

- Rg Lovecraft



Monday, October 21, 2013

WOLF CREEK 2 Trailer Has Been Released - Gives You A Lesson In The Ways of the Outback


Earlier this year, news broke about the sequel to the 2005 hit horror flick Wolf Creek which will once again star John Jarratt as the terrifyingly visceral Mick Taylor, resident evil-doer of the Australian Outback. I have to say, I just love that name, it makes me giggle as I think of Brian Jones' replacement in The Rolling Stones. 

My favorite Mick Taylor (left) with Keith Richards (right).

Anyway, today we get a look at the first trailer for Wolf Creek 2, as well as a new poster. You may remember the poster I shared months that seemed to be a little too influenced by Evil Dead, but this stuff seems to have a bit more of it's own flavor.

Lured by the promise of an Australian holiday, backpackers Rutger, Katarina, and Paul visit the notorious Wolf Creek Crater. Their dream Outback adventure soon becomes a horrific reality when they encounter the site’s most infamous local, the last man any traveler to the region ever wants to meet; Mick Taylor (John Jarratt). As the backpackers flee, Mick pursues them on an epic white knuckled rampage across hostile wasteland. Only one will remain to be dragged back to his lair to witness the true magnitude of his monstrosity. And if the last man standing is to have any hope of surviving where no one else has survived before, he’ll have to use every ounce of cunning to outwit the man behind the monster and become every bit as ruthless as the monster inside the man.



HORROR NEWS - Bruce Campbell Confirms: ARMY OF DARKNESS 2 IS OFFICIAL!


Guys, guys. Guys. I just don't even know where to start with this one. It's like finally hearing that you've won the lottery or that you found your favorite shirt which was seemingly lost forever but it was really just behind the couch the entire time. But bigger than that. Much, much bigger. As horror fans, there are those days where it seems like the impossible has been made possible and that all your dreams have seemingly come true. Folks, this is one of those days.

I woke up today thinking "This feels like a good day, I think this is going to be the start to a great week", and after having a rather sub-par weekend (hope your guys was fantastic though!) which was spent away from the internet, I woke up today to come into work and find out this absolutely delightful piece of news: Bruce Campbell has confirmed not only that Army of Darkness 2 is OFFICIALLY happening but also that he, of course, will be coming back to strap on the chainsaw and brandish the boomstick yet again as our favorite bumbling hero, Ash Williams. 

I seriously have to fight off tears right now.

This weekend, at this years Wizard World Nashville Comic Con, he indulged the crowd with the following: "The last one was twenty-two years ago. I just haven’t been racing to do it. Sam Raimi is just a little bit busy making the biggest movies in Hollywood. I used to be busy. Now I’m not. That’s why I’m here. He then joked, “Ash would have to stop occasionally from chasing some deadite to catch his breath. Maybe we could do that, I guess. That would be exciting. Fight in a walker. That would be alright. Hit them with my cane. Fake them out, have a fake heart attack, distract a zombie. I like it.

Now, if you have been following these rumors for the past however many years, you know that Bruce has teased us like the dirty little bitches we are, but this time it was no tease. When pressed on the matter, he went on to say, “Alright sir, the answer is yes.

Yes. The answer is YES. Not maybe, not "I'm sure it's gonna happen sooner or later" but yes.



Occasions like this require the cheesiest of celebratory music. 

Guys, let's get drunk and cry together.

- Rg Lovecraft

Friday, October 18, 2013

Black Sabbath Release Music Video for LONER


If you've been living under a rock and haven't yet heard Black Sabbath's seminal thirteenth album offering, aptly titled 13, then I feel bad for you. If there is one band that really embodies what horror is all about, it is Black Sabbath, and it's hard to describe what it feels like to not only hear them come back together but to come back with an album that is so undeniably Sabbath.

Over the past several months, Ozzy and the boys have been out touring supporting the album and today we see the release of a new official music video for third track on the album Loner, which is comprised of various live clips, backstage footage and, yes, Ozzy gettin' his cardio on. Dig on it below! 


DOCTOR SLEEP - A Literary Review by Rg Lovecraft


Oooooh Stephen King. How's it been goin', old friend? I feel like we haven't sat down and had a good adventure together in quite sometime. 

It should come as no surprise to you guys that I love me some Stephen King. He's one of those guys over whom I would squeal like a little girl if I was to see him in a grocery store, or pumping gas at the local Chevron. The sad thing about King is that his novels are never properly adapted for the big screen, it's something I've grown to accept. I don't believe that King's writing style can ever properly be conveyed in a visual format, he has such a personal, internalized writing style. Being that the Moretz fronted Carrie remake is hits theaters today (and the reviews are far from flattering) I thought today is a good day to focus on the man himself, the man behind the scenes, and his latest novel Doctor Sleep

I have been hotly anticipating this one for a little over a year, when I first heard that it was happening. A sequel to The Shining, and thank the heavens that it was Stephen King doing so and not Warner Bros. It says a lot about the faith and trust that I have in King that I can hear something like this, and not have a second thought. Just pure and complete excitement. I mean, we finally get to see what happens to Danny Torrance (now simply Dan), and how he copes with the aftermath of the tragedy in Sidewinder, Colorado. 

Now, if you're not familiar with the The Shining in it's true, original state, there will be some spoilers. If you don't care, or have read the novel, just highlight over those blank portions. 

The novel picks up after those terrible events, The Overlook has burned down and Danny and Wendy have escaped it's wraith, but Danny is still haunted by Mrs. Mackey and Horace Derwent. Not only have they followed him halfway across the country, but after some help from Dick Hallorann, Danny has found a way to use the shining to his advantage and lock them up in mental lockboxes for safe keeping. From here on out, we are taken many years into the future. Dan Torrance is now an adult, leading a life addled by alcoholism and poor decisions. He drinks to block the shining, which has haunted him his entire life. 

After a terrible encounter involving copious amounts of alcohol, cocaine and a curious toddler, Dan hops a train and heads north where he eventually ends up in a small sleepy town in New Hampshire where he not only finds work, but he begins his path to sobriety and finally finds some semblance of normalcy and purpose in life. He gets a job working for a local hospice in which he uses his talents to help the elderly guests (they are not patients in the Helen Rivington Home, but guests) pass onto their next spiritual journey. This is when he meets Abra, a girl who shines even harder than he did as a child, and the group of vampiric immortals who feed off of children who shine as a form of sustenance, but only after it's been purified through their pain and torment. What follows is a suspense trip unlike any other I've read in a King novel.

Something that a lot of people might find disappointing about this novel is the drastic stylistic differences between it and it's predecessor. It reads nothing like The Shining, and aside from the main characters name, you might never guess that it's a sequel to the supernatural novel. While The Shining was a tortured read of psychological terror and horror, this was more a suspense crime novel, wrought with psychic battles, telekinesis and telepathy. Does this make Doctor Sleep  a bad read? Absolutely not. Stephen King still has his touch, and it's just as much a page turner as anything else of his that I've read.

While I will say, The Shining is still the better of the two, King's character development is still spot on, especially in the case of young Abra Stone. One aspect of King's writing that has always amazed me is his ability to write children. He captures childlike innocence in such an amazing way. I am in no way a "children person", I steer clear of them and vice versa, however he is able to evoke emotions in me that I am sure are the very same that parents feel when staring at their beautiful little creations. King has definitely always had an affinity towards writing about children as well. The Shining, Pet Sematary, IT, etc. all prominently feature children, or the dynamic between child and father. Doctor Sleep is no different. 

I could go on for a while longer, but I'm bordering on analyzing King's writing as a whole (but that's for another post), but I will start to wrap things up now. Doctor Sleep is a great read, it's fun, it's engaging and as always, a page turner. While it does not compare to it's predecessor, it is important to keep in mind when reading this that not only is King in a different head space (it's been 30 years, and he's sober) the book is different. It is beautiful in it's own right though, there is the surface story, but the true underlying current is that of Dan Torrance and whether or not he will be able to finally let the grip that his father, and The Overlook has had on him all these years go. In that sense, it's a beautiful novel.

OVERALL RATING: 7/10

- Rg Lovecraft

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Is Pinhead Lost Forever in Development Hell? HELLRAISER: ORIGINS, A Fanmade Trailer/Pitch Video, Begs Dimension Films To Differ


Remakes. They are such a hot button topic in the horror world. Some people love them, some people hate them. Some people, such as yours truly, sits on the fence. I don't agree with the mindset of shooting something down simply because it falls under a certain set of criteria. Some remakes have been amazing. Others, well, as with any genre, subgenre of category, there are the stinkers. 

This however, is very hard to stay on the fence about. There have been a lot of those this year; the television adaptation of Scream has me very much on edge while talks of adapting The Exorcist for the small screen has my stomach in knots. Hellraiser is special though, much in the same way that people feel that A Nightmare on Elm Street without Robert Englund is a travesty (I am somewhat in that camp), I do not think that Pinhead should be resurrected unless Doug Bradley is beneath the pins. You can put anyone behind the hockey mask, or the white blank ghost face mask, but when Pinhead speaks, reasons and articulates thoughts. This brings it into murky territory. 

For years, there has been talk of bringing Pinhead back; of bringing him into the 21st century. Stuck in development hell for years, some headway was supposedly made in August of 2012 when it was announced that art designed by Paul Gerrard (Battle: Los Angeles) was used in a pitch trailer directed by Mike Le Han (Mrs. Peppercorn's Reading Room) at the request of Dimension Films. Was it finally happening? Well, I imagine that you can guess the outcome of that since this is probably the first you're hearing of it. The art however, looks pretty damn badass: 



 Here's a better idea of what this fabled pitch trailer entailed:

In July Paul Gerrard and Mike Le Han produced a teaser trailer to accompany the pitch document which has many more conceptual designs that revision Hellraiser. Paul designed the new look for Pinhead and was production designer on the shoot and Le Han pulled in all of his film resources and directed the teaser on the new Alex 4:3 camera with anamorphic lenses.
 
With a crew of 47 an over 100 bloodied extras, the shoot was completed and is now in the depths of post production with a massive amount of VFX work being undertaken. Method Studios, Fugitive Studios and Flipbook Animation are helming the chi/VFX with the talented Glen Southern designing (CG build of) the new Hellraiser box.


When the teaser is complete they’ll be presenting it to Dimension Films along with an outline of the first film story and conceptual art pitch document with the hope to work on rebooting the Hell raiser franchise and bringing it into the 21st Century.

THAT is where this story ends, HOWEVER, the journey to get Pinhead back onto the big screen is not over. Reported today on various other horror sites, there is a fan made trailer (some are calling it a pitch video) that is starting to make it's round on the rumor mill. A site has been posted (hellraiserorigins.com), which as of now is only a countdown to Halloween, when the trailer will be released. As of now, it is only known as a fan made pitch video, with the hopes to catch the attention of Dimension. A lot of fans want Pinhead back (especially after the travesty that was Hellraiser: Revelations), but what I'm interested is, do you?




Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Fan Art Find: The Overlook Gets Touristy


Fan art, especially in the horror world, is fucking awesome. I just stumbled across this poster inspired by The Shining. I have to have it.

Own MANIAC Today on Blu-Ray, DVD and VHS!


Bloody Disgusting calls it the best horror movie of the year, and to be honest, it's hard to think of many that could dispute that. Maniac, the Elijah Wood fronted remake of the controversial 80's slasher flick, hits store shelves TODAY and you can take it home on DVD, Blu-Ray and (yes, you read it right), VHS, thanks to Mondo Video.

A viscerally terrifying film, In this 21st century Jack the Ripper story set in present-day Los Angeles, Frank (Elijah Wood, The Lord of the Rings) leads a deceptively peaceful life. To the outside world, he’s a withdrawn and somewhat eccentric owner of a mannequin store. But his quiet fa├žade masks an inner rage that forces him to brutally kill and scalp the women who get too close to him. When a young artist named Anna (Nora Arnezeder, Safe House) appears one day at Frank’s shop and asks for his help with her new exhibition, Frank develops an obsession with her that threatens to completely destroy his already fragile psyche. Soon the streets become unsafe for any woman after dark as this newly awakened Maniac begins to stalk and kill."

I loved the film, especially for a remake. You can dig on my review here, and I'll say this, I'm excited that I can now add it to my own collection.


Gravity (2013) - A Non-Horror Review




Don’t let go…

I am a huge fan of survival stories, be it in literature or film. Lord of the Flies, Hatchet, Cast Away, I guess you could even toss LOST into that mix (I struggle with merely calling it a survival story), but I don’t think I’ve ever seen one quite like the Sandra Bullock fronted Gravity. Boasting an impressive 97% rating on Rotten Tomatoes, Gravity has been an interest to me since I saw a preview at the midnight pre-release of Evil Dead back in April. Going into it, I was excited, but I was also a bit nervous that it wouldn’t live up to the hype that it had been receiving; absolutely EVERYONE has been raving about this film. 

And, well, I guess I’m no different. Let’s get into it below.

Monday, October 14, 2013

Weekend Recap - What's New?



Hello all! I hope everyone had a delightfully terrifying weekend. Mine was very nice; relaxing and peaceful, which is exactly what I needed. I am sad to report, however, that due to traffic I was unable to make it to the screening of The Omen on time. I was so excited about getting to hear Richard Donner share his thoughts about the film that converted me to the world of horror at the rip age of 12, but if any of you have ever driven in Los Angeles before, you know how hard it can be to get into Hollywood on a Friday night. I was more excited about recording it so that I could share it with all of you. C'est la vie, I ended up catching Gravity (the latest Sandra Bullock/George Clooney suspense flick) down the street at the Chinese Theater, and while it's not a horror movie, it impacted me so much that I have to review it and share it with you guys. So be expecting that sometime this afternoon!

I also finished reading Stephen King's latest novel, Doctor Sleep, the sequel to his 1977 horror powerhouse The Shining. I was beyond excited to get started on it, and while I had to wait a week to start it, I savored every minute of it. While very different tonally from The Shining, it's still a phenomenal book that follows the later-in-life pursuits of the once young and poweful shiner Danny Torrance, after he's escaped the perils of The Overlook Hotel (physically, atleast). SO, there will be the first ever book review on Lovecraft Reviews. 


Speaking of book reviews, I have to extend an apology to Matthew Blake, the author of the amazing horror novel Awake. While it was set up in my queue for over a month ago, something went wrong and my review never got posted so that will be going up, as well as a Q&A with Mr. Blake discussing some of the finer points of his novel. 

SO, those were some of my weekend's festivities. What were yours? Sound off below!

- Rg Lovecraft

Thursday, October 10, 2013

October Plans - Lovecraft Gets Festive

 
As mentioned in my previous post, I am just so excited that October is here. I have been trying to think of a right-proper way to celebrate here on this blog, and I quite enjoyed writing an open letter to you guys so I think a series is in order! Oh yes, the first ever post-series from Rg Lovecraft, aren't you just so excited you could pee!?

"Now whatever could this series be centered around?" you might be wondering. Well, I'm going to be ultimately self-glorifying and write about my all-time favorite horror films. Not reviews, so much, but a mixture of analyses, why they are my favorites and perhaps even an argument or two as to why I believe that they could be some of the greatest horror films of all time. ALSO, there may be a giveaway in the near future of some very awesome stuff, SO leave a comment below and let me know if that's something you guys would be interested in.

In between be expecting all kinds of other fun stuff, as I will be attending a variety of screenings this Halloween season, as well as Rob Zombie's Great American Nightmare. The first of which will be tomorrow night, I will be attending a screening of The Omen, Richard Donner's 1976 masterpiece, which will be followed by an intimate Q&A with the director himself. Now I'm so excited that I could pee. 

What do you guys have planned for this, the most wonderful of seasons? Haunted houses, screenings, concerts, parties? Get it all out there! And I'd love to know what your halloween costumes might be this year! 

- Rg Lovecraft

An Open Letter to the Readers of Lovecraft Reviews

Hello all,

I have not gone away, I am still here and in all honesty, I've been trying to think of something to write. I post tons of news, I post reviews but I want to begin to post something of greater substance on here. I know that there are only a few of you that read this blog, and your readership means the world to me, so I will get better about posting beyond the array of news about American Horror Story, or the latest tidbit about this or that. 

Horror is a wonderful world, one that I have occupied for many, many years. A big reason as to why I started doing this was to have a way to put some of the great love that I have for the genre back into it. This is a magical month, a month where fans like us can revel in our love for all things dark, spooky, grim and gory. Where we can go to the movie theater and watch The Exorcist on the big screen and imagine what it must have been like to be sitting in a theater on a warm June night in 1973 when the film debuted across the nation. We have a bond through that, do we not? 

Every October I feel a certain energy, I am more excited and alert. I find myself more prone to smiling when I see posts on Facebook, Twitter and Reddit about friends and family watching Halloween, or Hellraiser. This is the world that I occupy all year round, it's exciting to see others join me for a bit.

This has led to me the thought that I want to encourage more intellectual discussion on this site, I want to provide a place where we can share our thoughts beyond speculation of what new film is coming out in a week or two, or who is cast in this or that. I want to use this as a site to share my thoughts, to dissect films, books and music, and hopefully show people that there is more to this world than blood and guts. If you have an article idea, a review idea, some point of discussion that would be fun to delve into, please feel free to either comment or send me an e-mail. I want to get to know each of you, after all, it's hard enough to find horror fans out in the real world, let's stick together in what ways we can!

With that, I say thank you for reading. Thank you for being the first readers on this site, and I hope that the numbers grow. It's OUR month, guys. It's OUR time to shine, in all of our foul, grim glory. Let's have fun, let's talk, let's share our love for the taboo and let's show everyone that this genre, this world and this fanbase is only getting stronger!

- Rg Lovecraft

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

How You Know When Your Horror Obsession Has Reached New Heights

My extremely religious mother is a sweet heart. She thinks of nobody but herself, is widely considered a saint by my friends and has nightmares when she watches an episode of Law and Order. But she still knows to send her beloved son a picture of The Stanley Hotel when she's visiting Estes Park with my father (if you don't know what this is, you best be leavin' these parts). 
 


And that's when you know that horror culture has become one of the defining aspects of your life. Love you mom!

- Rg

Friday, October 4, 2013

HORROR ON TV - AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN Invites 10 Fans to Experience the Coven



So, it's almost impossible to keep up with the never ending slew of teasers, posters, post cards, trailers and what not that Ryan Murpy and the American Horror Story team push out, so I apologize if I've slacked on bringing you AHS news, but THIS is really cool!

Apparently the AHS team brought 10 fans out to New Orleans, to introduce them to the Coven and give them the ultimate fan experience. There's little known about it other than that, but check out the first video below! It looks like an awesome experience, and I'm jealous, if anything because it looks like they got a free trip to New Orleans out of the deal!


Creepshow (1982) - A Review




The most fun you’ll ever have…. BEING SCARED!

Anthology films are fun. While they are not necessarily my favorite, there are always exceptions to the rule, this being that very exception. Written by Stephen King and directed by George A. Romero, this film features a powerhouse of horror icons, including special effects by Tom Savini, King himself (in a one-man segment of the film), Adrienne Barbeau and music by John Harrison. 

Let’s dig on in, shall we?

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Get The Sounds Of The Entire HALLOWEEN Franchise On HALLOWEEN: THE SOUND OF EVIL


It's a pretty magical month for fans of Halloween, what with the release of the 35th Anniversary Special Edition Blu-Ray last week, now you can own all those iconic themes, scores and sounds from the ENTIRE franchise in one collection thanks to BuySoundtrax Records! Read on for the press release: 

BuySoundtrax Records is proud to scare the bejeezus out of you this fall with the release of HALLOWEEN: THE SOUND OF EVIL – MUSIC FROM THE HALLOWEEN FILM SCORES, available digitally and on CD on October 2, 2013. The collection is the first to celebrate the music from the eight films in the original series and the two films in the re-imagined series and includes music by John Carpenter, Alan Howarth, John Ottman, Danny Lux, and Tyler Bates. The album is arranged and produced by Dominik Hauser.
 
Filmmaker John Carpenter created not only the slasher film that reinvented the genre, but the music that would define terror for decades to come. “The piercing tonality of his shrill synth sustains took on the gleaming sheen of a butcher knife’s blade, while the electronic stabs of lower-end synth chords became the brutal blows of the killer’s slashing arm and the repetitive, tinkling piano notes became the spine-chilling icicles dripping down your spine,” describes Randall D. Larson, author of Musique Fantastique: 100 Years of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Film Music in the liner notes.

HALLOWEEN: THE SOUND OF EVIL – MUSIC FROM THE HALLOWEEN FILM SCORES will be available digitally, via BuySoundtrax and other outlets on October 2, 2013.

Track listing:

1. Halloween-Main Title
2. Halloween- Laurie's Theme
3. Halloween-The Shape Stalks
4. Halloween II-Theme
5. Halloween III: Season of the Witch- Silver Shamrock Commercial
6. Halloween III: Season of the Witch - Drive to Santa Mira
7. Halloween III: Season of the Witch - Chariots of Pumpkins
8. Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers-The Dream
9. Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers -Michael's Finale
10. Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers-Tower Farm Murders
11. Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers -Halloween Final Revenge
12. Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers-Empty Stomach
13. Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers -Look Upstairs
14. Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers -Thorn
15. Halloween H20: 20 Years Later-Suite
16. Halloween: Resurrection-Let's See The Body
17. Halloween: Resurrection-The Ceremony
18. Halloween (2007)-Halloween Reimagined
19. Halloween II (2009)-Brackett Finds Annie
20. BONUS TRACK Halloween II (2009)-Mr. Sandman
21. BONUS TRACK Halloween-Main Title Reprise (No children’s choir)
22. BONUS TRACK Halloween III: Season of the Witch Silver Shamrock Commercial (w/o Narrator)

HORROR ON TV - MTV Takes Ghostface's Name A Little Too Seriously; SCREAM Series Heads Into Supernatual Territory

 
On Monday I reported that Harvey Weinstein has been trying to get his brother Bob to agree to bring Ghostface back to the big screen for one last hoo-rah before they end the series for good. This would be tremendously exciting, if it weren't for the fact that it's all speculation while the MTV series is well under way. 

Even if we do get to see that beautiful white mug up on the big screen again, what would that mean for the MTV series? According to Harvey Weinstein, nothing. While attending the Zurich Film Festival, he informed audience that there’s no overlap between the series and film franchise. He went on to say that the series “is supposed to represent a new beginning and also pursue a supernatural direction.

This is exactly what I expected to happen, especially when you take into consideration that the hordes of brain dead teenagers are currently eating up MTV's rendition of Teen Wolf like a fat kid eats cake. But what does Weinstein mean by "supernatural"? Is Ghostface going to be the next indestructible force, ala Jason Voorhees and Michael Myers? Will Ghostface haunt the streets of Woodsboro ala A Nightmare on Elm Street after the adults cover up the grisly past involving Sydney Prescott? What do you think? Sound off below! 

George A. Romero's Day of the Dead (1985) - A Review




“First there was ‘Night of the Living Dead’, then ‘Dawn of the Dead’… and now the darkest day of horror the world has ever known.”

I had the wonderful privilege of attending the Day of the Dead Soundtrack Festival on Monday night at the beautiful Egyptian Theater in Hollywood. George A. Romero was in attendance, along with composer John Harrison, Howard Sherman, Greg Nicotero (The Walking Dead) and Joe Pilato for a post-screening Q&A. It was a dream come true for any horror fan, and to be sitting a mere 20 feet away from the godfather of zombies was quite an honor. 

While I have grown weary of the current zombie infestation that seems to be infecting every inch of pop culture, I had a wonderful time watching this film and getting a nice reminder about why George A. Romero is one of the horror greats. No matter how many zombies I see, his will always be the best. 

For those of you who have not seen Day of the Dead, it is a wonderful zombie with a twist. It’s strangely heartfelt, whacky, zany, hilarious and extremely graphic. It’s a very fun ride, you will laugh, you will cringe, you will jump, you may even get a little misty eyed, but mostly you’ll laugh. A lot. 

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

HORROR IN PRINT - Gunnar Hansen Tells The Other Side of the Making of THE TEXAS CHAIN SAW MASSACRE


The man behind one of the most iconic masked mad men in the history of horror has stepped out from behind the leather and is telling his side of the making of what is possibly the first great slasher film to ever appear on the big screen. Gunnar Hansen, known for unleashing Leatherface upon the world for the first time, has released his autobiography in which he tells his story in regards to what went into making The Texas Chain Saw Massacre the classic that it has become today. 

The official (and rather lengthy synopsis) is as follows: 

When first released in 1974, the terrifying film The Texas Chain Saw Massacre was both reviled and championed, seizing the imaginations of audiences and critics alike. From its early days as a controversial cult sensation to its showing at the Cannes film festival and inclusion in the collection of New York’s MoMA, it is now recognized as one of the greatest horror movies of all time, even while mystery and mythology around the film endures.
 
A six-foot-four poet fresh out of grad school with limited acting experience, Gunnar Hansen played the masked, chainsaw-wielding “Leatherface.” Now in Chain Saw Confidential, critically acclaimed author Hansen steps from behind his “Leatherface” mask to tell the true story behind the making of this iconic film. 

Combining his unique perspective with conversations with fellow cast and crew members, Hansen debunks myths and offer fresh behind-the-scenes details on the film’s inventive but often quite dangerous independent production, illuminating insights into the film’s reputation and place in popular culture, and a thoughtful meditation on why we love to be scared in the first place.

Find out:

● What footage director Tobe Hooper cut for being too disturbing
● The psychological ramifications for several of the cast and crew members
● Which actor maintained character for the entirety of the filming
● What major newspaper called it a “despicable film”
● How the film’s marketing as a true-story created confusion and claims that people know “the real” Leatherface, even today.


This film was, and is, more than just a film to me when I was growing up. It shaped my opinions on film, it opened up a whole new world to me just as much The Exorcist and The Omen did a few years before. I mean, I still sleep underneath a TCM poster every night, so I am understandably very excited to get my hands on this and dig into it myself!

 

The Most Metal Band in The World Returns In METALOCALYPSE: THE DOOMSTAR REQUIEM A KLOK OPERA


I have been waiting patiently for word of the next season of Metalocalypse, and thanks to Bloody Disgusting, that word finally came through the grapevine! On October 27th, there will be a one hour, Metalocalypse  extravaganza that's sure to melt our skulls with metal and carnage.

Brendan Smalls, the brains behind the show, states: This is not like anything we’ve ever done. This is a full blown musical- metal combined with symphonic passages, classic musical theatre, high stakes drama, emotional moments, and yes totally ridiculous comedy. I drew from all of my influences to make this the most unique project I could dream of. This is easily the best thing we’ve ever done with the show and the music. I can’t wait for you to hear it.

You can expect appearances from the likes of Jack Black (Tenacious D), Malcolm McDowell (A Clockwork Orange, Excision), Metalocalypse regular Mark Hamill and Cannibal Corpse's very own George Fischer. 

The one hour special will pick up after the conclusion of season 4 in which Toki Wartooth was kidnapped by evil forces. Will the rest of the band be able to over come petty differences, accept their fate as the chosen ones and save him? Either way, there was a 50 piece orchestra commissioned for the soundtrack of this thing, so it's going to be HUGE. The soundtrack will be released 2 days (10/29) after the episode premieres on Adult Swim. 

Now all that's left to do is dig on the teaser below and get ready for the end of this month!

Angelenos! Spend Your Halloween Season Cozying Up To The Classics on the Big Screen - Courtesy of ArcLight!

Arclight Cinemas in Los Angeles and San Diego will be showing a whole slew of classic horror flicks this year, in the weeks leading up to the hallowed day! This is probably always my favorite part of Halloween, getting to see this wonderful films in all of their glory on the big screen, and I have to say, this years selection is already proving to be wonderful. 

Here's the full list for ArcLight's special month long event called ArcLight Presents... Scary Stories. If you're in the LA area I hope to see you there! I bet you'll never guess which one's I'll be attending:   

GHOSTBUSTERS 



Sunday, October 13th at 5:00 PM: Beach Cities, La Jolla and Sherman Oaks locations

FRIDAY THE 13th



Thursday, October 17th at 8:00 PM: La Jolla and Pasadena locations

ARMY OF DARKNESS


 Sunday, October 20th at 8:00 PM: Beach Cities, La Jolla and Pasadena locations

THE HOUSE BY THE CEMETARY (Hand picked by Eli Roth)


Tuesday, October 22nd at 8:00 PM: Hollywood location

THE EXORCIST


Sunday, October 27th at 8:00 PM: Beach Cities, La Jolla, Pasadena and Sherman Oaks locations 

ALFRED HITCHCOCK'S PSYCHO


Monday, October 28th at 8:00 PM: Sherman Oaks location

EVIL DEAD 2: DEAD BY DAWN


Tuesday, October 29th at 8:00 PM: Pasadena location

THE SHINING


Wednesday, October 30th at 8:00 PM: Hollywood and La Jolla locations

You don't wanna miss this so make sure that you get your seats reserved ASAP and see you there! 

- Rg Lovecraft
 

Happy October Everyone!


This couldn't describe my feelings about this month any more accurately. Happy October everyone! To the month where we can act like ridiculous fan boys and nobody bats an eye, cheers. 

It's gonna be a fun month on Lovecraft Reviews, a TON of reviews, news, articles, photos and fun stuff will be finding their way here over the next 31 days so stay tuned! And you can always sound off in the comments and let us know what how YOU'RE celebrating the spookiest month of the year!

Keep it spooky!

Rg Lovecraft