Monday, September 30, 2013

In Anticipation of The Upcoming Release of CARRIE, You Can Listen to The Official Theme Song Here!



Carrie will be running amok across screens nationwide in a few weeks time, and before you head to the theater to watch the rain of blood you can listen to the Carrie's Theme, composed by Marco Beltrami, over at the official site for the film!

If you are a regular reader of this blog, you will know that I am a huge fan of horror scores and the massive effect that they can have on a film. From soft whispered strings to large orchestral masterpieces and score can elevate a film from little more than a creepy scrap of folklore to a terrifying piece of nightmare fuel that will stay with you for years. Take a listen here, and as always, let me know what you think in the comments!

Harvey Weinstein Wants to Bring An End to the SCREAM Franchise With SCREAM 5!

 
Happy Monday everyone! It was a fun weekend fueled by booze and rock and roll for me, but I'm excited to be back and even more excited to be back with a juicy nugget like this one. 

Attention all you Scream fans, there is hope yet for us to see Ghostface on the big screen one last time! If you're anything like me, you're more than a little upset that MTV has recruited Wes Craven to develop his 90's slasher franchise into a series so this news is like Christmas morning for a six year old.

Here's the scoop: Harvey Weinstein is giving it his all, trying to convince his brother Bob (who heads Dimension Films) to wrap up the franchise with one final film, Scream 5, so that we can all say goodbye to Sid Prescott, Dewey, Gale and of course, Ghostface for good. As Harvey says, "We've milked that cow dry", and he wants to lead her out to pasture. 

I am so excited to hear this, all that I've been wanting is one more romp in ze hay on the big screen and was pretty devastated when talks of a series on MTV (of all stations) began making the rounds on the 'ol internets. Now all that's left to do is play the waiting game and hope and pray that Bob begins to see things the way his brother does. 

- Rg Lovecraft

Friday, September 27, 2013

More Casting News! Jane Adams Cast in Gil Kenan's POLTERGEIST



Gil Kenan has added another face to the roster for his reboot of the 1980's mega-classic Poltergeist. Jane Adams, best known for her role as the frizzy haired pimp in HBO's short-lived Hung, has been cast in the MGM and Fox 2000 reboot. 

She will be playing a parapsychologist that is enlisted by the family to help identify the spooky spirits and what they want with them in their home. The role was originally played by Beatrice Straight in the original, so no, she's not taking Zelda Rubinstein's part (if that's what you were thinking). 

Gil Kenan (Monster House) is directing, while the cast already boasts Sam Rockwell (Iron Man 2, The Green Mile), Rosemarie DeWitt (Your Sister's Sister) and Jared Harris (AMC's Mad Men, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button).


Rosario Dawson Tapped for Blumhouse's Next Paranormal/Possession Based Franchise


We live in the day and age where franchises are born even before the first chapter of said franchise is finalized. Blumhouse Productions has announced a new horror franchise entitled Incarnate. Brad Peyton will be direction while Aaron Eckhart (The Dark Knight, I, Frankenstein) is set to star and Rosario Dawson (Death Proof, Sin City) is in negotations to co-star. 

The story from Blumhouse: “An unconventional exorcist with the ability to tap into the subconscious of the possessed who meets his match when a 9-year-old boy is possessed by a demon from his past."

 

Thursday, September 26, 2013

I've never posted something like this, but due to the pure stupidity of justgirlythings and thingsboysdowelove, this had to be shared. Happy almost Friday everyone!

 

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

HORROR ON TV - Check Out The Opening Credits for AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN


I've never seen the intro credits for AHS roll out before the season premiered, so either I've been out of the loop on this in previous years or this is brand new this year! Either way, check out the opening credits for American Horror Story: Coven below.

Over 300 years have passed since the turbulent days of the Salem witch trials and those who managed to escape are now facing extinction. Mysterious attacks have been escalating against their kind and young girls are being sent away to a special school in New Orleans to learn how to protect themselves. Wrapped up in the turmoil is new arrival, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga), who is harboring a terrifying secret of her own. Alarmed by the recent aggression, Fiona (Jessica Lange), the long-absent Supreme, sweeps back into town, determined to protect the Coven and hell-bent on decimating anyone who gets in her way.

Catch the premiere on October 9th, with returning cast Jessica Lange, Sarah Paulson, Evan Peters, Taissa Farmiga and more.



The Scary Beatles - Four Songs About Not So Lovey-Dovey Things




On Monday night I had the privilege of getting some passes to see Sir Paul McCartney perform in the middle of Hollywood Blvd for the Jimmy Kimmel Show. Yes, that is correct, Hollywood Blvd was shut down and Macca, The Beatle, performed some of his most beloved songs for over an hour to the joy and wonder of thousands of happy onlookers. It was quite exciting standing on the dotted line and hearing “Hey Jude” blare over the crowd to a chorus of thousands of “nah nah nah”s. 

Now, you may be wondering “Rg, what does The Beatles have to do with horror, and why are you rambling about Paul McCartney on your site?” Well, I assure you it has little do with simply wanting to brag about it (although, I’d be lying if that isn’t some part of it), I thought it would be fun to look at the other side of The Beatles. While yes, they were all about peace, love and happiness, some of the most beloved Beatles songs are about murder, beating women, arson and have fuelled some of the most grisly murders America has seen. They just sound so wonderfully happy that you never even question it! 

So here we go! Let’s take a peek at some of the darker things that The Fab Four sang about in their day:

1. Maxwell’s Silver Hammer – Paul McCartney 
 

Released in 1969, Maxwell’s Silver Hammer was written (and primarily recorded) by Paul McCartney. While it was originally written be included on The Beatles (a.k.a. The White Album), it was left out due to timing issues and was included on their final album Abbey Road. While the light and happy music was described by John Lennon as “more of Paul’s granny music”, the lyrics hold a much darker message of a man named Maxwell who decides to (literally) kill anyone who stands in his way with his trusty silver hammer, starting with his girlfriend, moving on to his teacher and ending with the judge sentencing him for the previous crimes. 

The chorus, “Bang, bang Maxwell’s silver hammer came down upon her head. Clang, clang Maxwell’s silver hammer made sure that she was dead”  is one of those choruses that no matter how dark it may be, you would never assume that sweet little Paul could ever write about actually killing someone, much less 3 someones.


2. Run For Your Life – John Lennon


John Lennon had a tendency to be a bit angry, and that is showcased on the 1965 track Run For Your Life. The title alone should tell you plenty about what the song entails, it was released on the studio album Rubber Soul and was so nasty, in fact, that John Lennon claimed that it was his least favorite Beatles song. He went on to revisit the same theme, only in a more apologetic tone with his post-Beatles tune Jealous Guy

The introductory line, “Well I’d rather see you dead little girl, than to catch you with another man” is only the beginning of this allegedly misogynistic song, the chorus is where the real meat and potatoes lies, “You better run for your life if you can little girl, hide your head in the sand little girl, catch you with another man that’s the end’a little girl”. It doesn’t stop there, we even get a nice (and very direct) threat on the girls life in third verse, “Let this be a sermon I mean everything I’ve said, Baby I’m determined and I’d rather see you dead”. Eesh, I think I’d regret that one too.


3. Norwegian Wood (The Bird Has Flown) – John Lennon/Paul McCartney


This has always been one of my favorites, which is saying a lot considering it’d be damn near impossible for me to name a favorite song, much less a favorite album. Released in 1965 on the album Rubber Soul, it is the first rock song to incorporate the use of a sitar, which was played by George Harrison. It’s a pretty little song, with a folk-inspired, finger picked acoustic guitar part that intertwines with the sitar as Lennon sings about an affair that he had while married to Cynthia Lennon. 

The song isn’t so much about murder, or death, as some of the others in this list, but it’s more about the story behind it. Lennon began writing the song while on holiday with his wife Cynthia, which makes it all that much funnier that it happened to be about an affair that he had. What makes it even better is that he couldn’t even remember which affair it was, he just knew that he didn’t want Cynthia finding out about the true meaning of the song. When he approached Paul to help him finish the lyrics, it was Paul who came up with the title of Norwegian Wood and when stumped with how to end the song, it was also Paul who thought it would be fitting to burn down the harlot’s house. That’s right, they burn down the poor girl’s house. 

“She told me she worked in the morning and started to laugh. I told her I didn't and crawled off to sleep in the bath. And when I awoke I was alone, this bird had flown. So I lit a fire, isn't it good Norwegian wood?”
 
The moral of the story? Don’t cocktease The Beatles. They will light all your shit on fire. As Macca said when asked about the lyrics, “So she makes him sleep in the bath and then finally in the last verse I had this idea to set the Norwegian wood on fire as revenge, so we did it very tongue in cheek. She led him on, then said, "You'd better sleep in the bath." In our world the guy had to have some sort of revenge… so it meant I burned the place down…”


4. Helter Skelter – Paul McCartney


Another song that, lyrically, has little to do with murder. Mayhem, yes, but murder, no. When The Who released I Can See for Miles in 1967, Pete Townshend went on to call it the “loudest, rawest, dirtiest song the Who had ever recorded”. Now, being Paul McCartney, he took it as a personal goal to outdo The Who and write the loudest, rawest, dirtiest song ever recorded period and Helter Skelter was the end result. Released in 1968 on The White Album the song depicted everything the title meant; mayhem, disorder and it was a slap in the face to the critics who claimed that McCartney was only capable of writing ballads. 

It was a fantastic song yes, but some folks took it a little too literally and in 1969 Charles Manson termed a coming “racial war” after the song, which he later used to manipulate and use a group of young derelict kids who were looking for some kind of hope and purpose in life. Termed the Manson Family, he began a killing spree that shocked the nation when he sent several members of the family to various houses where they killed in cold blood, sprawling “HELTER SKELTER”  and other obscenities on the walls in blood. The most notable of these murders was that of Sharon Tate, the famous actress who was married (and pregnant with the child of) to Roman Polanski. 

Manson may have believed that he was the 5th Beatle, or he may not have, he was a master manipulator. But one thing is for certain, he loved The Beatles.


So there ya go. A few Beatles songs that aren’t necessarily about peace and love, but the exact opposite. Now, most importantly The Beatles were about love, peace and acceptance and that is why they will always be my favorite band. This article is in no way meant to slander their name, or the beautiful music they created, merely a fun article reflecting a different side to the band that we all think we know so well. So go, make love and all that other hippie dippie shit. I got some horror movies to watch.

- Rg Lovecraft

COMIC NEWS - Commissioner Gordon Heads to Fox In His Own Drama Series

 
This may not be horror, but there's something you're gonna learn about me. I love Batman and I will write about him any given chance, even though this doesn't actually have all that much to do with Batman himself. 
 
First, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (wow, that's hard to type), now we have Gotham in the next line of superhero based TV series that will not feature any superheroes. This one, will be focusing on Commissioner James Gordon in his early years and the rise of Gotham's villains before either meet the Batman. The series will focus heavily on Gordon's years as a detective for Gotham PD, so I'm hoping maybe, just maybe, at the end we'll get a little sneak peak of Batman: Year One?

There's very little word as of yet, however Bruno Heller, creator of The Mentalist and Rome, has been tapped to write and executive produce. 

I'm also grateful that this isn't being released by the giant crap-shoot that is The CW, whom DC's parent company, Time Warner, happens to own 50% of. Arrow currently airs and The Flash is  in development there. 

It's just too bad that Bryan Cranston is too old to play Gordon in this series, he was perfect in the animated DC feature, Batman: Year One.

Justin Long Returns to Horror to Star In Kevin Smith's TUSK


Kevin Smith's fantasy turned reality is getting more and more real as time goes by, and it's taken a huge leap forward by casting Justin Long as the film's pivotal "Frankenstein"ish character. Horror fans may remember Long from Jeepers Creepers and, more recently, the fan favorite Raimi directed Drag Me To Hell.




Smith has already ventured into horror with 2011's Red State but will be taking another stab with his personal homage to Human Centipede titled Tusk. Smith is already in pre-production and casting. In a recent EW interview Smith divulged the plot to the film, as well as broke news that Long had been cast: 


It’s about a guy who turns another guy into a f–king human walrus. As weird as it is in my head when I talk about it, they finally sent me the costume designs by Robert Kurtzman, and I was like, ‘Holy sh-t, it’s a monster movie, I had no idea.’ I thought I was making a kind of sister thriller to Red State. As soon as I saw the designs, I go, ‘Of course this is a monster movie and he’s Dr. Frankenstein.’

 While Long has been cast as the creation, Dr. Frankenstein too has been cast. Tarantino favorite, Michael Parks (Kill Bill Vol. 1 & 2, Django Unchained) who previously worked with Smith in Red State will be taking that mantle: 

It was written for Michael Parks, who I loved in Red State. That was one of the best times I ever had my career, sitting on a set, rolling a camera on a true f–king genius, who is pretending to be somebody else and I forgot who the real guy is because his performance is so good. I wrote the script around him, so it’s nothing but Michael Parks dialogue porn. Justin Long is the guy in the walrus suit. I needed a guy who has expressive eyes because once you’re in that suit, you’re covered. I reached out to Justin and he wrote back and was like, ‘This is awfully scary but how can we not? Let’s fall down this hole.’ So it’ll be Parks versus Long trying to answer the age-old question, ‘Is man indeed a walrus at heart?’"

Smith is obviously very excited about this one, and has gone to say it's a "fucked up movie, dude". 

Filming begins late next month and all you festival junkies can expect to feast your eyes on the walrus monster next year.

Monday, September 23, 2013

Sam Raimi Is Determined To Get ARMY OF DARKNESS Off The Ground!



So we're starting the week off with some hugely tasty news from Bloody-Disgusting and Fede Alvarez! 

Friday night saw the opening of this years spooktacular Universal Studio's Halloween Horror Nights, and with the Evil Dead maze being a major attraction at the event, Fede Alvarez was walking the red carpet. He revealed to BD.com that not only is Sam Raimi interested in continuing his support of Alvarez' new ED franchise, he's going to be resurrecting his own.

That's right, my fellow Deadites, the rumors are true. Army of Darkness 2 (tentatively titled) IS happening and (according to Alvarez) Raimi is busy writing it! 

While nothing is official yet, we know that when Raimi gets his mind set on something (i.e. Drag Me to Hell) he gets it done. Now, we play the waiting game and see what comes first, Evil Dead 2 or Army of Darkness 2

Oh, glorious day.

Friday, September 20, 2013

HORROR IN PRINT - Stephen King Calls Out Kubrick's Vision of THE SHINING

 
Those who know me know that I am a very devout Shining fan. It's my favorite book, it's my favorite film, I've dressed as Torrance for Halloween, carved Shining inspired pumpkins, decorated my house with a variety of memorabilia and spent an 2 hours crying over that particular section at the Kubrick exhibit this year at LACMA. You get the point. 

Yet, I am still the first to admit that in terms of an book to screen adaptation, The Shining is a fucking horrible movie. Just about the only thing that the book and film have in common are the names of the characters, Kubrick had his own vision and while it was stunning, he completely shut King out of the production. Low blow, bro. 

King has never kept it a secret that he is not a fan of Kubrick's interpretation of the book. However, with Dr. Sleep looming over us now of course his views of the film are starting to come out in interviews. He recently shared some more insights that I had never heard before and I thought it was interesting enough to share on here.

In a recent interview with BBC: “[It's] cold, I’m not a cold guy. I think one of the things people relate to in my books is there’s a warmth, there’s a reaching out and saying to the reader, ‘I want you to be a part of this.’ And with Kubrick’s ‘The Shining’ I felt that it was very cold, very ‘We’re looking at these people, but they’re like ants in an anthill, aren’t they doing interesting things, these little insects.’”

When the subject of the two main characters was brought up: “Jack Torrence, in the movie, seems crazy from the jump. Jack Nicholson, I’d seen all his biker pictures in the 50s and 60s and I thought, ‘He’s just channeling The Wild Angels here,’” he said,Shelley Duvall as Wendy is really one of the most misogynistic characters ever put on film, she’s basically just there to scream and be stupid and that’s not the woman that I wrote about.”

While right now isn't the right time for me to spew off my thoughts about the film (trust me, it'll take a while and that post is coming soon anyway) I've always said these things about the film, so it's nice to see the man himself reinforce my sentiments. 

More importantly, have you read the book and what do YOU think about the translation from book to film? Share those thoughts!

Get Dr. Sleep in a bookstore near you next Tuesday, September 24th. 

- Rg Lovecraft

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

HORROR ON TV: New Slew of Awesome AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN Posters!


Everyday the excitement builds. As a New Orleans/Voodoo lover, there are a couple in here that just absolutely tickle my fancy. This is definitely looking to be the most supernatural of all three seasons as well, witchcraft galore! Check 'em out below!

Over 300 years have passed since the turbulent days of the Salem witch trials and those who managed to escape are now facing extinction. Mysterious attacks have been escalating against their kind and young girls are being sent away to a special school in New Orleans to learn how to protect themselves. Wrapped up in the turmoil is new arrival, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga), who is harboring a terrifying secret of her own. Alarmed by the recent aggression, Fiona (Jessica Lange), the long-absent Supreme, sweeps back into town, determined to protect the Coven and hell-bent on decimating anyone who gets in her way.
 
 


The Loved Ones (2009) - A Review




Prom night can be torture. 


We’re fast approaching the Halloween season; that means that my future entails a lot of Cradle of Filth, even more horror films (if that’s even possible), and plenty of badass parties. Plus putting together my costume. I fucking love this time of year. 


I spent a while trying to think of what I wanted to review this week. I probably watch atleast 5 to 10 a week, sometimes repeats, but it’s always hard to go through and pick which one I want to write about. This is also made difficult by the calendar I’m putting together for next month, but I think that today I will be reviewing the Australian film, The Loved Ones

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

HORROR ON TV: Slither Up To This New AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN Teaser



We're getting closer and closer to the October 9th debut of American Horror Story: Coven, and the teasers are coming faster and faster. Dig your fangs into this latest one, released today!

Over 300 years have passed since the turbulent days of the Salem witch trials and those who managed to escape are now facing extinction. Mysterious attacks have been escalating against their kind and young girls are being sent away to a special school in New Orleans to learn how to protect themselves. Wrapped up in the turmoil is new arrival, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga), who is harboring a terrifying secret of her own. Alarmed by the recent aggression, Fiona (Jessica Lange), the long-absent Supreme, sweeps back into town, determined to protect the Coven and hell-bent on decimating anyone who gets in her way.

Fede Alvarez Goes To Hell with The Live-Action Adaptation of EA Games DANTE'S INFERNO


Fans of this year's highly anticipated remake of Evil Dead will be excited to hear that Fede Alvarez is currently in negotiations to direct the live-action adaptation of EA Games' hit Dante's Inferno

There's not much word going around yet, other than that Universal wants Alvarez to direct the script written by Jay Basu (originally written by Bruce McKenna) and that it is being produced by Eric Newman, Marc Abraham and Patrick O'Brien (VP at EA Entertainment). 

If you're not familiar with Dante's Inferno, it is based on Inferno, the first part of Dante Alighieri's epic poem Divine Comedy, an allegory telling of Dante's journey through the 9 levels of Hell. 

 

FUN FIND - THE EXORCIST Voice Over Work - Before and After Behind The Scenes Clip



I know it's going to be a good day when it gets started with fun stuff like this! As mentioned before, I love seeing making-of's and behind the scenes featurettes and this is one of the coolest ones out there. There's something about The Exorcist, normally with films when you see the "behind-the-scenes" footage, a lot of the creepiness is dispelled, but not with this one. Hearing these lines that have become ingrained in my head spoken with Linda Blair's real voice is almost creepier, if that's even possible (what with Mercedes McCambridge's stellar performance). Check it out!

CARRIE Gets First TV Spot


The first TV spot for the re-imagining of Brian DePalma's classic film is here. Check it out below. 

Starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Julianne Moore, Judy Greer and Portia Doubleday: The film is a reimagining of the classic horror tale about Carrie White (Chloë Grace Moretz), a shy girl outcast by her peers and sheltered by her deeply religious mother (Julianne Moore), who unleashes telekinetic terror on her small town after being pushed too far at her senior prom.



Monday, September 16, 2013

HORROR ON TV: AMERICAN HORROR STORY: ASYLUM's Living, Breathing Voodoo Doll



I was excited last week when we saw the first ever AHS trailer that actually featured the cast, I was hoping for more of that. This week, we're back to the ultra-ambiguous trailers that show nothing other than 8 seconds of creepy imagery. That's cool too though. Feast your eyes on the latest AHS: Coven teaser below!

Over 300 years have passed since the turbulent days of the Salem witch trials and those who managed to escape are now facing extinction. Mysterious attacks have been escalating against their kind and young girls are being sent away to a special school in New Orleans to learn how to protect themselves. Wrapped up in the turmoil is new arrival, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga), who is harboring a terrifying secret of her own. Alarmed by the recent aggression, Fiona (Jessica Lange), the long-absent Supreme, sweeps back into town, determined to protect the Coven and hell-bent on decimating anyone who gets in her way.

Sony Pictures Moves Ahead with Adaptation of GOOSEBUMPS With a Star in Sight


RL Stine helped convert an entire generation to the world of horror in the early to mid 90's with his made-for-children horror novels Goosebumps. Heaven knows, I had my Goosebump sheets, and I have to say, they are most likely the reason I'm so god damn obsessed with this shit today. 

Sony Pictures has announced plans for an adaptation of the popular children's book/television series, and while they have already nailed down a director in Rob Letterman (Monsters vs. Aliens, Shark Tale), The Warp is reporting that they have a big name in negotiations to star. 

None other than, Jack Black.


So, chew on that one. 

- Rg Lovecraft

JK Rowling and Warner Bros. Announce New Set of Wizarding Movies Based in Potterland


I am a huge Potter fan. While I'm far from considering myself the end all be all Potterhead (I mean, seriously, have you seen some of those die hard Potter fans?), I've loved the series dearly since the books were first released (atleast here in America) and I was very sad to see them leave not only the bookshelves, but even the theaters a few years ago. We always had a feeling that Rowling would return to the magical world that she painstakingly created over the course of 17 years, and sure enough, she released news that she most definitely is. 

According to EW, JK Rowling and Warner Bros. have announced that she will adapt her Hogwarts textbook Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them into a full length film about the books author Newt Scamander. This will not only be a deeper look into the wizarding world, but it will also be Rowling's first-ever screenplay and it's expected to be the first of a series. This could be really cool, as Newt was not only the author of the textbook, but he was a world class magizoologist and headmaster to Hogwarts. Also, this film is said to take place in New York City, which is extremely exciting to me as I've always wondered what American wizards were like.

Here's what Rowling has to say about it: "It all started when Warner Bros. came to me with the suggestion of turning Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them into a film. I thought it was a fun idea, but the idea of seeing Newt Scamander, the supposed author of Fantastic Beasts, realized by another writer was difficult. Having lived for so long in my fictional universe, I feel very protective of it and I already knew a lot about Newt. As hard-core Harry Potter fans will know, I liked him so much that I even married his grandson, Rolf, to one of my favourite characters from the Harry Potter series, Luna Lovegood. As I considered Warners’ proposal, an idea took shape that I couldn’t dislodge. That is how I ended up pitching my own idea for a film to Warner Bros. Although it will be set in the worldwide community of witches and wizards where I was so happy for 17 years, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is neither a prequel nor a sequel to the Harry Potter series, but an extension of the wizarding world. The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the Harry Potter books or seen the films, but Newt’s story will start in New York, 70 years before Harry’s gets underway. I particularly want to thank Kevin Tsujihara of Warner Bros. for his support in this project, which would not have happened without him. I always said that I would only revisit the wizarding world if I had an idea that I was really excited about and this is it." 

So, stoked!

- Rg Lovecraft

New CARRIE Featurette Features the Same Clips, Same Vibe, Same Ideas





Hello everyone! I'm back, after yet another beautiful weekend in sunny Southern California. I hope everyone had a lovely time, I certainly know I did.

We're starting the week off with the latest featurette, a UK featurette to be exact, for Kimberly Peirce's Carrie. In this re-imagining of Brian DePalma's original horror masterpiece, but more importantly Stephen King's debut novel, we see the tragic story of the supernaturally gifted Carrie White and what happens when you push that creepy quiet kid one step too far.

The official synopsis: “The film is a reimagining of the classic horror tale about Carrie White (Chloë Grace Moretz), a shy girl outcast by her peers and sheltered by her deeply religious mother (Julianne Moore), who unleashes telekinetic terror on her small town after being pushed too far at her senior prom.

Now, when we saw the first trailer for this, I was pretty stoked. I love the novel (it's a short read, get off your lazy asses and go check it out at the library), and while the film is good I feel that it never properly conveyed the true emotion and grit of the novel. In fact, I was going to write an entire series on Stephen King and his novels, comparing the literary works to their big screen counterparts, however I realized that there is not one book that I feel was properly (or even close to) coveneyed on the big screen.

REGARDLESS, I thought the first little teaser looked pretty damn cool. "We're finally going to see the destruction of the ENTIRE town," I thought to myself. However, as time has progressed we've been treated to literally the EXACT same trailer, with minor tweaks throughout, ever since. The level of excitement has decreased quite a bit, however, I'm still excited to see it and I think it's going to be a perfect film for the Halloween season.

Check out the UK trailer below, and as always, sound off in the comments below!


- Rg Lovecraft

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Event Horizon (1997) - A Review




Infinite Space – Infinite Terror 

There are a few flicks that I remember vividly from childhood. Not because I watched them every day or because they made up that prized stack of VHS tapes that received the honor of repeat viewings, but because they absolutely horrified me. I’m talking, being dragged out of the theater/room while screaming and bawling my eyes out horrified. I love, love, love revisiting those old horror flicks. They make up a huge part of the reason why I love the genre today, and continue to be fascinated by it. 

While I may not necessarily love the films themselves, I love the feelings that they imparted and I enjoy having another watch after all these years to see if those fears might be reignited and terrify me yet again. While most of them, Child’s Play, Tremors and End of Days, cause me to laugh at my ability to be so terrified at them, Event Horizon is a film that has been on my list for a while. I have extremely vivid memories of this one; having to sit outside of the theater for the duration of the film, because I simply and absolutely could not handle the film. Even covering my eyes didn’t seem to help, the sounds alone terrified me and made me cry. 

While re-watching this film (unfortunately) didn’t send me back into a state of comatose fear, I did enjoy it thoroughly. I believe that this film is a good example of Rotten Tomatoes not always being right, as it boasts a rather sad rating of 22% on the site.

First Trailer Is Now Out for Guerilla Horror ESCAPE FROM TOMORROW


The Disney based guerilla horror film that I told you about last week, Escape from Tomorrow, has it's first trailer and boy howdy is it somethin'. Surreal, odd and creepy are three words that come to mind, as well as Lynch. Very Lynch. 

I dig it, I like where it's going and I have to say, the quality of the film is fantastic. For being filmed secretly in Disney World and EPCOT, this thing is top notch. It almost makes you wonder if we're in store for another Blair Witch style marketing stunt. 

Either way, I'm looking forward to this one, although it looks like the type of film that will require a nice fatty before sitting down to watch.

Starring Roy Abramsohn, Elena Schuber, and Katelynn Rodriguez, "In a world of fake castles and anthropomorphic rodents, an epic battle begins when an unemployed father’s sanity is challenged by a chance encounter with two underage girls on holiday.

                  

Cool Find - THE EXORCIST Make Up/Camera Tests


My general love for horror extends beyond the on screen brutality and definitely ventures into the creative aspect of horror films as well. When I was younger, I loved watching every special feature, every documentary or short that I could find about what went on behind the camera. Some would say it's the equivalent of learning how the magician does his tricks, but it's endlessly fascinating to me and it really boosted my respect for the genre to see how they captured Jenning's death in The Omen or how they filmed the hitchhiker blowing her brains out in The Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake.

Thanks to Reddit, I found a make up and camera test for The Exorcist that I haven't seen it years. Even this short video alone is scary and unsettling, which goes to show how far the terror of this film has extended. Dig it below!

 

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

HORROR ON TV: AMERICAN PSYCHO Next on FX's Chopping Block


So, I have to say, the trend that I thought I'd never really see is taking off in a way that's blowing my mind. It seems that every horror film out there will eventually be adapted to the small screen, and word got released today that FX has their eyes set on an American Psycho sequel-series. Yes, a sequel. 

“In the new drama series, iconic serial killer Patrick Bateman, now in his mid-50’s but as outrageous and lethal as ever, takes on a protégé in a sadistic social experiment who will become every bit his equal — a next generation American Psycho.”

According to EW, the project will be written by Stefan Jaworski and co-produced by Lionsgate and FX. Allison Shearmu, Jaworski and Ed Pressman are executive producers.

FX already has American Horror Story, the insanely popular horror show, so if this one is greenlit I think they'll have trouble hiding their boner for scary stuff, Murika and freedom. Oh yeah, they also have a show called The Americans. Good god. 

 

HORROR ON TV: New Teaser for AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN Finally Stars The Cast

 
I know I've been MIA the past few days, I apologize. I got back from a Vegas wedding on Sunday and have been kind of out of it since then. 

There's a brand new teaser out for AHS: Coven and it's pretty cool for a number of reasons. One, it's longer than 18 seconds; two, it's the first teaser for AHS ever to show the cast. Dig on it below!

"Over 300 years have passed since the turbulent days of the Salem witch trials and those who managed to escape are now facing extinction. Mysterious attacks have been escalating against their kind and young girls are being sent away to a special school in New Orleans to learn how to protect themselves. Wrapped up in the turmoil is new arrival, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga), who is harboring a terrifying secret of her own. Alarmed by the recent aggression, Fiona (Jessica Lange), the long-absent Supreme, sweeps back into town, determined to protect the Coven and hell-bent on decimating anyone who gets in her way."

This year's cast includes: Jessica Lange, Taissa Farmiga, Evan Peters, Sarah Paulson, Gabourey Sibide, Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett and more. 

 

Thursday, September 5, 2013

HORROR ON TV - New "Coffin" Promo for AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN


The news certainly comes in waves with this show. The newest teaser has been released for AHS: Coven, and I have to say, the more that comes out to promote the latest season the less excited I get. While I loved the second season, the first season left a lot to be desired, and I felt that a huge reason for that was due to the angst filled romance between Tate and Violet. The first season felt heavily centered on the female demographic, and I can't help but feel that Coven will be going in the same direction. Not that there's anything wrong with that, I simply feel that the Romeo and Juliet approach often gets in the way of the horror and distracts the viewer, i.e. True Blood.

Either way, give it a peep below.

Over 300 years have passed since the turbulent days of the Salem witch trials and those who managed to escape are now facing extinction. Mysterious attacks have been escalating against their kind and young girls are being sent away to a special school in New Orleans to learn how to protect themselves. Wrapped up in the turmoil is new arrival, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga), who is harboring a terrifying secret of her own. Alarmed by the recent aggression, Fiona (Jessica Lange), the long-absent Supreme, sweeps back into town, determined to protect the Coven and hell-bent on decimating anyone who gets in her way.


The Happiest Place on Earth Gets Scary - New Guerilla Style Horror Flick That Was Filmed Entirely At Disney World


So this is... interesting. I don't know if you've heard about this yet, but it's news for me. Director Randy Moore's Escape from Tomorrow has gotten distribution and received a release date. 

Now, what makes this flick especially interesting is in that it was filmed secretly at both Disney World and EPCOT. The LA Times broke the news that it will be seeing a release, both theatrically and on your favorite VOD platform, on October 11th. EW also got their hands on the one sheet (which you can see below) which depicts our favorite rodent's hand all bloodied up and ready for more action. Who doesn't love seeing blood dripping off of Mickey Mouse's fingers? 

Directed by Randy Moore and starring Roy Abramsohn, Elena Schuber, and Katelynn Rodriguez, Escape from Tomorrow is a gritty look behind the curtain of happiness at the 'happiest place on earth' shown through the black and white view of a digital camera. "In a world of fake castles and anthropomorphic rodents, an epic battle begins when an unemployed father’s sanity is challenged by a chance encounter with two underage girls on holiday."

Dig on the one-sheet and trailer below.




Wednesday, September 4, 2013

HIM Continues Love Metal Invasion with Music Video for INTO THE NIGHT


There are very few bands that I have loved with the kind of fervency and longevity as Finnish Love Metal-ers, HIM. Ville Valo will always be my homie, and I'm even willing to forget that horrid pile of what-was-that called (Screamworks, or whatever it was called), in favor of their last album Tears on Tape that has held a happy home in CD player since it was released. 

They recently released a video for one of my favorite songs on the album, "Into The Night" and I have to say, I'm loving the new dynamic with Valo playing acoustic. It seems like he's playing quite a bit more now a days.

Dig below, and you'll also find remaining tour dates (on Monster Energy's Rock Allegiance Tour with Volbeat, All That Remains and Airbourne) should you want to see them live. I'll be seeing them at the Hollywood Palladium in 2 weeks. 



September 3 – Maverick Centre | West Lake City, UT
September 4 – The Joint The Hard Rock Hotel + Casino | Las Vegas, NV
September 6 –KISW Pain In The Grass | George, VA
September 8 – Abbotsford Entertainment & Sports Center | Abbotsford, BC
September 9 – Big 4 Building | Calgary, AB
September 10 – Rexall Place | Edmonton, AB
September 13 – Desert Sky Pavilion | Phoenix, AZ
September 14 – Sleep Train Amphitheatre | Chula Vista, CA
September 15 – Aftershock Music Festival | Sacramento, CA
September 16 – Hollywood Palladium | Los Angeles, CA
September 18 – Verizon Theatre Grand Prairie | Grand Prairie, TX
September 19 – Bayou Music Center | Houston, TX
September 21 – St. Augustine Amphitheatre| Gulfport, MS
September 22 – Tabernacle | Atlanta, GA.
September 23 – Greensboro Coliseum Complex | Greensboro, NC
September 25 – Starland Ballroom | Sayreville, NJ
September 26 – Skyline Stagge The Mann | Philadelphia, PA
September 27 – Tsongas Arena | Lowell, MA
September 28 – Brooklyn Waterfront | Brooklyn, NY