Thursday, August 29, 2013

You're Next (2013) - A Review




Did you remember to lock the door? 

As Home Invasion Celebration Week has come to an end, I have to apologize for not getting this review up earlier. As I mentioned yesterday, I came down with a wee bit of the sickness and have been meaning to get this up but have only just found the energy and time to devote to this review. I am very excited to finally be posting this, as this film has been highly anticipated in the world of Rg Lovecraft since 2011, when it first started making its festival rounds. 

Unlike Evil Dead I had no apprehension walking into this film. I knew, without a shadow of a doubt that this film was going to deliver, and boy howdy did it ever. As entertaining and funny as it is dark and gruesome, You’re Next delivers on all fronts and has definitely made Adam Wingard and Simon Barrett a force to be reckoned with in the modern world of horror cinema.

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

HORROR ON TV: Tons of News Rolls Out Of AMERICAN HORROR STORY Camp


The good news keeps on rolling in this week and I've got a bit of catching up to do! Earlier this week, the fourth teaser was released (you can check it out below) and yesterday the season premiere date AND the official story arc were released. 

"Over 300 years have passed since the turbulent days of the Salem witch trials and those who managed to escape are now facing extinction. Mysterious attacks have been escalating against their kind and young girls are being sent away to a special school in New Orleans to learn how to protect themselves. Wrapped up in the turmoil is new arrival, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga), who is harboring a terrifying secret of her own. Alarmed by the recent aggression, Fiona (Jessica Lange), the long-absent Supreme, sweeps back into town, determined to protect the Coven and hell-bent on decimating anyone who gets in her way."

As far as the cast goes, Ryan Murphy is keeping up the recurring theme of using his favies, however this year it's unfortunately looking like Zachary Quinto will not be joining the witchhunt. This is sad news, especially considering what an amazing job he did with last year's Bloody Face. Some new additions to the ensemble include Angela Bassett, Gabourey Sibide and Kathy Bates.




Make Way for the Trailer Premiere of WE ARE WHAT WE ARE


This year has been a SOLID year for horror movies, what with the release of Evil Dead  (remake), Maniac (remake), You're Next, American Mary, and it's not stopping anytime soon. Slated for a September 27th release, Jim Mickle's remake of the Mexican cannibal click, We Are What We Are has just premiered the official trailer and my does it look... tasty.

"The Parkers have never been much for company. In fact, for as long as they've lived in the Catskills, none of their neighbors have set foot in their home. And that's by design; family patriarch Frank (Bill Sage) is intent on maintaining his ancestral customs, which wouldn't be understood by modern society. Meanwhile, when the storm clouds open up and their small town starts to flood, the local authorities make some disturbing discoveries that seem to confirm everyone's worst suspicions about the mysterious clan."

 

Fellow Angelenos, Come On Out and See the First Four FRIDAY THE 13TH Films on A Big Screen!



You heard that right. In the true tradition of keeping things awesome, Evan Dickson over at Bloody Disgusting will be hosting a Friday the 13th marathon at the Aero Theater in Santa Monica. And on what date might this fall on you, you may be asking yourself? Well, Friday, September the 13th of course. 

Tickets are $13 and can be purchase early, here. I will definitely be doing everything within in my power to get there, the event kicks off at 5 PM in the street outside of the theater. There will be food trucks, costume contests (dress up as your favorite franchise character! I've got a mean Pamela Voorhees I've been raring to bust out) and all kinds of nasty fun stuff going on. PLUS there may be a few special guests making the rounds throughout the night.

So come one out and support your local horror scene! It's gonna be groovy.

- Rg Lovecraft

Tons of Stuff Coming Soon! YOU'RE NEXT, EVENT HORIZON, THE LOVED ONES and MORE All Get Reviewed!

So I've been sick and as I'm sure you all know, being sick in the summer sucks. It leads to crankiness, laziness and a general malaise BUT I still dragged my happy ass out to the theater on Thursday night to see You're Next and I loved it. I meant to get the review up on Friday, but I started getting sick before the movie on Thursday and am barely coming out of my fog now. SO keep an eye for that review this afternoon!

In the meantime of not posting, I've been watching tons of flicks, so you can also be expecting reviews for:

Event Horizon (1997) 

Jack Ketchum's The Girl Next Door (2007)
The Loved Ones (2009)
Session 9 (2001)

AND the first ever Lovecraft Reviews NOVEL review of Awake, including a very special Q&A with upcoming author Matthew Blake!

Stay tuned, and as always, thanks for reading. 


Keep it spooky,
Rg Lovecraft

Thursday, August 22, 2013

The Last House on the Left (1972) - A Review




To avoid fainting, keep repeating: “It’s only a movie, it’s only a movie, it’s only a movie…”


A huge allure of horror films when I was younger was the taboo that seemed to encapsulate them. I was strictly forbidden from watching them when I was young, at least when mom was in the house, so naturally (much like any other young child who is told they can’t do something) I was drawn to them. I think that’s something that transcends young age, and in the world of horror it is far from unheard of for films to be banned for decades before they are seen within the borders of some countries. Many films have met this fate, such as The Texas Chain Saw Massacre and The Hills Have Eyes, but one of the biggest to be slapped with the fated rating of X was the exploitation horror, The Last House on the Left. 


Written and directed by Wes Craven, this film broke boundaries when it was released in 1972. It was exceedingly violent, gruesome, perverse and downright awful, but then again that’s what makes it a horror film that we are still discussing 40 years later. Funny enough, Sean S. Cunningham (who went on to direct Friday the 13th) actually produced this one through his own studio so we saw two great masters of horror working together years before they went on to mark their names in the horror books forever. Friday the 13th meets A Nightmare on Elm Street? Sounds tasty. 

TONIGHT'S THE NIGHT! YOU'RE NEXT Tears It's Way Into Select Theaters at 10PM, Nationwide Release Tomorrow!


I certainly hope that you're as excited as I am, it feels like I've been waiting FOREVER for this movie to come out! I have my ticket for tonight's 10PM showing, make sure you get yours so you can be the first on the block to see Adam Wingard's You're Next. This should be exciting for all you Re-Animator fans as well, seeing as Barbara Crampton makes another big screen appearance in this one.

The review will be coming tomorrow, and stay tuned for the final review of Home Invasion Celebration Week, The Last House on the Left!

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

When A Stranger Calls (1979) - A Review




“Every babysitter’s nightmare becomes real…”

Considered to contain one of the scariest scenes in horror history, When A Stranger Calls has achieved cult status simply due to the first 20 minutes of the film. The story of a babysitter and a dangerous man upstairs evokes terrifying imagery, and has become an archetypical scenario for hundreds of horror movies to follow (i.e. The House of the Devil). Inspired by the success of Halloween in 1978, Fred Walton decided to revisit a short film that he had done entitled The Sitter, which became what we now know as When A Stranger Calls, one of the first of many home invasion films to come out of the horror genre. 

AJ Bowen and Sharni Vinson Dish on The Horror (and The Humor) of YOU'RE NEXT!


Bloody Disgusting's Evan Dickson posted this awesome interview with You're Next's AJ Bowen and Sharni Vinson yesterday and it's pretty awesome! Sharni dishes on being the strong and Australian Erin, while AJ dishes on injecting a little humor of into the horror. Dig in, and make sure you head out to your local theater to see You're Next this FRIDAY (Thursday night if you're lucky)!

When a gang of masked, ax-wielding murderers descend upon the Davison family reunion, the hapless victims seem trapped…until an unlikely guest of the family proves to be the most talented killer of all.”  



Alamo Drafthouse Issues A Warning to All Theater Talkers, Featuring AJ Bowen and Barbara Crampton!




You're Next is hot on our tails, and Alamo Drafthouse has released a new "Don't Talk" ad (to add to their already hilarious line-up) warning you that if you're a talker then you could be NEXT. Check it out below to see Barbara Crampton and AJ Bowen issue AD's ominous warning:

 

HOME INVASION CELEBRATION WEEK - WHEN A STRANGER CALLS Review Coming This Afternoon


We're moving right along with Home Invasion Celebration Week, today's entry will be that of When A Stranger Calls, the 1979 feature directed by Fred Walston and starring Carol Kane and Charles Durning.

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Funny Games (1997) - A Review




A Nightmare. 

There’s something innately terrifying about home invasion films. Someone coming into the place that you consider the most sacred, the place that you feel safest, and stripping you of all those comforts. The psychological toll, along with the physical, is enough to take the energy out of the audience and leave them on the edge of their seats in silent anticipation of what will happen next. I mean, isn’t that the point of a good horror film? 

I almost sympathize more with the victims of a home invasion horror film, but then again, this is one of my favorite sub-genres of horror. While there are tons of these types of films, it’s always special when you find an exceptionally good one, and Michael Haneke’s Funny Games is just that type of film. Intelligently written and beautifully acted, it’s another film that I regret having waited so long to see. 

HOME INVASION CELEBRATION WEEK - FUNNY GAMES Review Coming This Afternoon


Stay tuned for the review of director Michael Haneke's amazing home invasion thriller, Funny Games. Coming this afternoon!

Monday, August 19, 2013

CARRIE Launches New Site, Investigate the Creepiness of The White House Yourself


MGM and Screen Gems has rolled out yet another viral campaign for the upcoming October release of the Stephen King classic Carrie. In the new site, findcarrie.com, you can go on a virtual tour of Carrie's house with characters from the film, Christine Hargensen/Billy Nolan texting you to warn you if Mrs. White returns.

While the concept is cool, I can't help but start to think that this movie might not be all that I originally thought this was. This is yet another viral marketing campaign (of endless proportions, it seems) that I've seen for this movie, including #whathappenedtocarrie, the Tumblrs, facebook pages, text message campaigns, the "call Carrie" hotline, it's endless. Things like this make me think that they may be overly compensating for the film itself, it comes off as desperate in a way. 

At the same time, some of the stuff if is pretty cool and I'll still be in line to see it on October 18th. 

What do you think?

- Rg Lovecraft

Friday, August 16, 2013

It's HOME INVASION CELEBRATION WEEK To Honor YOU'RE NEXT, Out in Theaters Next Friday!




We are one week shy of the release of You’re Next, and I can’t fucking wait! Adam Wingard has appeared to thoroughly outdo himself as I have yet to read a single bad review for the latest addition to the home invasion genre. Wingard has a long line of hits already under his belt such as Pop Skull, segments in V/H/S and V/H/S/2,  and he’s currently filming his next project; one that he wrote with Simon Barrett. 

I love, love, love home invasion horror films. They play on many different psychological fears; fears of things that could actually happen. While zombies and vampires may be terrifying in a fantastical sense, in the back of all of our minds we know that all it would take is one open window or unlocked door for all hell to break loose in the place where we feel safest. This is horror at its finest for me, so in honor of the release of You’re Next, it’s home invasion celebration week on Lovecraft Reviews and I’ll be kicking it off with 10 films that feature home invasions and/or the victims rising up to kick ass and take names!

Read on, and check out inside the break!

Thursday, August 15, 2013

HORROR ON TV - Yet Another AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN Promo Hits the Net



Ryan Murphy warns us, "Misbehave and incur our kind of suspension" with the latest 18 second promo for his hit show American Horror Story: Coven. 

In additional news, the titles for the first three episodes have been released as well: 

Episode 3.01 – “Bitchcraft” (October 9th)
Episode 3.02 – “Boy Parts” (October 16th)
Episode 3.03 – “Replacements, The” (October 23rd)


Stay tuned for more.

- Rg Lovecraft

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

HORROR ON TV - Voodoo Creepiness Invades Latest AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN Teaser




American Horror Story: Coven is apparently following the same formula they set last year, by releasing small 20 second long teasers (that really tell you nothing about the plot itself) to advertise the release of it's third season this October. Last week we saw women fusing with walls, this week we see a living voodoo doll. Check it out below!

"American Horror Story’s third season will center on a coven of witches that relocated from Salem, Massachusetts to New Orleans, Louisiana before The Salem Witch Trials. The themes include witches, witch hunts, and witchcraft vs voodoo. Kathy Bates will portray infamous serial killer Delphine LaLaurie who, at the start, is Fiona’s (Jessica Lange) best friend, but later becomes her worst enemy.” Frances Conroy is set to play Ruth, Fiona’s 'rival from high school times.' This season will be set in modern day and the 1830s.”

 

New TV Spot for YOU'RE NEXT Gets... Scary


Definitely one of the most anticipated horror films for fans across the world, including myself, Adam Wingard's You're Next descends upon the masses in 2 and a half weeks! Just the same with the remake of Evil Dead, for every sign, billboard and advertisement I pass the excitement grows. Starting Friday, in honor of the new flick that's receiving rave reviews, we'll be focusing on home invasion horror here at Lovecraft Reviews; and by we I mean me. 

REGARDLESS, there's yet another TV spot and while it's only 30 seconds long, man does it still get my engine going. Check it out below, and if you haven't heard about this one yet, educate yo'self: 

"When the Davison family comes under attack during their wedding anniversary getaway, the gang of mysterious killers soon learns that one of victims harbors a secret talent for fighting back."


 

Full List of Directors for ABC's OF DEATH 2 Released!


This is the first I head of a sequel to last year's hit The ABC's of Death, but it's happening and the directorial roster (as well as stylistic departures) has been released. While I wasn't a huge fan of the film as a whole (review), there were some solid segments and I'll definitely be signing up for a viewing of the sequel. 

We will not only be seeing horror directors this year, as Julian Barratt (The Mighty Boosh), Todd Rohal (The Catechism Catalysm), Canada's Steven Kostanski (Manborg), Cuba’s Alejandro Brugu├ęs (Juan of the Dead), commercial director Jim Hosking; Japan's Hajime Ohata (Henge) and Canadian short film director Chris Nash (Skinfestation) will be joining this years roster of horror faves. 

The rest of the years best include:

Alex de la Iglesia (The Last Circus, Day of the Beast)
Rodney Ascher (Room 237)
Bill Plympton (Academy Award-nominated animator)
Erik Matti (On the Job, Magic Temple)
Kristina Buozyte and Bruno Samper (Vanishing Waves)
Vincenczo Natali (Splice, Cube)
Larry Fessenden (The Last Winter, Habit)
Marcus Dunstan (The Collection)
Julien Maury and Alexandre Bustillo (Inside, Livid)
E.L. Katz (Cheap Thrills)
Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado (Rabies, Big Bad Wolves)
Julian Gilbey (A Lonely Place To Die)
Dennison Ramalho (Ninjas, Love For Mother Only)
Lancelot Imasuen (founder of Nigerian "Nollywood" cinema)
Jeremy Sable (The Legend of Beaver Dam, Stagefright)
Robert Morgan (BAFTA Award-nominated animator) 

And I have two favorites in this years! None other than Japanese arthouse director Sion Sion, known for Suicide Club and Cold Fish; and horror fan favorites THE SOSKA SISTERS, the twisted twins behind American Mary and Dead Hooker in a Trunk!

The last bit of exciting news is that the "26th Director" sweepstakes is returning, which means one lucky filmmaker will have their short featured in the film and win 5,000 dollars to party hardy with. 

Check out the video below!

 

Will All the Zombie Fans Please Stand Up? George A. Romero Finishes Script for New Flick, THE ZOMBIE AUTOPSIES

 
While I'm not the biggest zombie fan, I do have love in my heart for the loveable little man with thick rimmed glasses, the Zombie King himself, Mr. George A. Romero. A true visionary for the world of horror, he gave the world the ultimate in terror in 1968 when he introduced us to zombies in his groundbreaking film Night of the Living Dead. Over the years, Romero has continued to pump out zombie hit after zombie hit, and even at 73 years old he doesn't seem to quitting anytime soon. Today, it's been revealed that he's finished his latest script entitled The Zombie Autopsies

As the walking dead rises up throughout the world, a few brave doctors attempt to find a cure by applying forensic techniques to captured zombies. Based on the research of renowned zombie expert Dr. Stanley Blum, performed at a remote island where a crack medical team has been sent to explore a radical theory that may lead to a cure for the epidemic, THE ZOMBIE AUTOPSIES documents for the first time the unique biology of zombie organisms. Twenty-five detailed drawings of the internal organs of actual zombies provide an accurate anatomy of these horrifying creatures, including zombie brains, hearts, lungs, skin, and the digestive system, while Dr. Blum’s notes reveal shocking insights into how they function, even as Blum and his staff themselves begin to succumb to the plague. No one knows the ultimate fate of Dr. Blum or his researchers, but now that his notebook, THE ZOMBIE AUTOPSIES, has been made available to the UN, the World Health Organization, and the general public, his scientific discoveries may provide the last hope for humans on earth!

Stay tuned for more news on this one!

- Rg Lovecraft 

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

New Trailer for I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 Gets Intense!


Oh how I can't wait for this one, and the new trailer looks insane! Bloody-Disgusting got the exclusive, but you can check it out below. 

Los Angeles will be receiving a theatrical engagement on September 20th (10 guesses as to where I'll be that night) and the film will be rolling out on DVD and Blu-Ray on September 24th. 

Naturally beautiful, Jessica (Dallender) has just settled into New York where she, like many other young women, is trying to make it as a model. But what starts out as an innocent and simple photo shoot soon turns into something disturbingly unthinkable! Raped, tortured and kidnapped to a foreign country, Jessica is buried alive and left to die. Against all odds, she manages to escape. Severely injured, she will have to tap into the darkest places of the human psyche to not only survive, but to exact her revenge…

 

The True Story of the First Test Screening of THE EXORCIST II: THE HERETIC


The Exorcist II: The Heretic (review) is widely considered by horror fans to be on of the worst sequels of all time, and, well, they aren't too far off from that. William Friedkin, director of the original, hasn't even seen it (aside from the first few minutes) but he was invited to a preview screening in Pasadena of the film. He declined, however he has a pretty funny story about the audiences hilariously violent reaction to the film told to him by a studio exec who happened to be at the theater. Check it out below!

I found this funny little story courtesy of bloody-disgusting.com.

Happy 114th Birthday to the Master of Horror, Alfred Hitchcock!


Raise a glass and watch a classic tonight in honor of the master of horror, Mr. Alfred Hitchcock's 114th birthday!

Friday, August 9, 2013

PARANORMAL ACTIVITY Gets TWO Sequels in 2014. Say What?


If there was one franchise that you could slap with the title "Cash Grab" Paranormal Activity would be that film. From the get-go, the franchise made it clear it that it was not about creating solid horror films, but creating easy money sources. I put them on the same level as the Scary Movie franchise. If there is any proof of these statements, this would be it:

Paramount Pictures and Blumhouse Productions have announced that they will be releasing not one, but two sequels to the spooky ghost franchise in 2014. This news come after we recently found out that there will be no spooky ghost story this Halloween. What they are going to do is release a Latino spin-off (really?) under the Paranormal name on January 3rd (it was originally titled OT: Oxnard Tapes but they changed the name to Paranormal Activity: Marked Ones) and will be releasing the official sequel, Paranormal Activity 5, on October 24th.

So there you have it, the spookiness resumes, just a year later than expected.

- Rg Lovecraft

HORROR FIND - "Attack of the Knope": NBC Creates Horror Themed Trailer for Parks and Recreation Season Premiere


Believe it or not, I do watch and enjoy some things that don't revolve around the horror world, but when those things take on a horror twist it definitely makes me love them even more! 

One of those things happens to be one of my favorite TV shows at the moment, Parks and Recreation. To promote the premiere of the new season in late September, NBC slapped together a horror themed trailer that features a certifiably insane (but still incredibly loveable) Leslie Knope, played by Amy Poehler, going, well, insane.


Here's the tag line: "Leslie Knope may seem like an honorable, upstanding city councilwoman, but isn't that what they say about all homicidal maniacs?"

Dig in!

 

RIP Karen Black AKA Mama Firefly, Rayette Dipesto


It's a sad day for horror fans as word broke that Karen Black, the voluptuous vixen of horror, lost her fight to cancer on Wednesday. 

Karen Black got her big break when she was cast as a prostitute who takes LSD with Dennis Hopper and Peter Fonda in 1969's Easy Rider and went on to star with Jack Nicholson as his starry eyed lover in Five Easy Pieces. While she worked with Nicholson again, her true calling came in the form of horror where she played quirky, strange and always terrifying roles such as Nancy Pryor in Airplane 1975 (Alfred Hitchcock's last film), Faye Greener in The Day of the Locust and a variety of roles in Trilogy of Terror. Throughout the years she was in many films, television roles and is a fan favorite as Mama Firefly in Rob Zombie's House of 1,000 Corpses. 

Karen Black will be missed and will be remembered by her full lips, curly hair, her full bodied laugh and her inexplicable ability to make you smile, no matter how dastardly her on-screen antics are. 

RIP, Karen, you will be missed.

- Rg Lovecraft

Thursday, August 8, 2013

THE BRIDGE, A New Series on FX Gets Reviewed


In lighter television news, last night I discovered a series on FX called The Bridge and decided to take a peek. While not necessarily a "horror" television show in the same vein as American Horror Story it is a suspense/crime drama that takes in place in none other than good 'ol El Paso, Texas; lil' Lovecraft's hometown. And since every other horror site is covering Bates Motel, Hannibal, Sleepy Hollow, etc. I wanted to cover one that seemed neglected to a certain extent. While I will begin series reviews on the others, this one is brand new and I'm all about it.

Fueled by a sense of home-sickness and excitement to see my hometown on the biggish screen, I hunkered down to settle into the first episode and was pleasantly surprised. 



HORROR ON TV - THE EXORCIST: Next In The Long List Headed to Television


Okay, so I don't know how to say this without being biased, or sounding like an asshole, but this is my blog so I can cry if I want to. 

Morgan Creek, who owns the rights to The Exorcist, has begun shopping around a drama series based on the iconic and legendary film which is being written by Jeremy Slater. You may know him from the long forgotten Fantastic Four film. Roy Lee (The Ring) is set to executive produce and apparently there has been interest from both broadcast and cable networks. This comes after last years failed attempt to sell the idea, although under a different writer (Sean Durkin; Martha, Marcy, May, Marlene). 

What the fuck? Excuse my language. I've bit my tongue over Hannibal. Although I've been a bit more vocal about my disdain for The Scream series on MTV,  I didn't say anything about Bates Motel (albeit, that's a great show), and I decided to look the other way when Sleepy Hollow was announced, but THIS?! I just can't. They only way in hell that this will have a chance is if Showtime, HBO or Netflix sweep in and allow the director to have complete and utter free reign over the project but even then, how in the hell are they going to create an entire season around the exorcism of Reagan, much less an entire series? It was easier to ignore all these terrible TV adaptations but this one is just absolutely ridiculous to the point that it makes me angry.

This is what I call groping at sticks, or what most call milking the proverbial cow dry and it pisses me off. This is the greatest horror film of all time, show some respect.



 

OLDBOY Pushes Back Release Date/Teases Us With New Photo


Spike Lee's remake of the wildly amazing and ingenious film by visionary South Korean director Park Chan-Wook has been pushed from it's pre-Halloween debut to a pre-Thanksgiving date of November 27, 2013. 

I can't wait to see the film, I'm a huge fan of the original and while I was skeptical upon hearing that Spike Lee would be re-imagining the film, the trailer looks fantastic. FilmDistrict recently shared a tasty new screen shot with EW, which you can see below in addition to the trailer. Dig in and let me know what you think!




Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Fright-Rags Rolls Out Pre-Order for Limited Edition RE-ANIMATOR Screen Print Signed by Barbara Crampton!


Fright-Rags, fine purveyor of tasty horror merch, has released details about a pre-order for a limited edition Re-Animator one sheet and t-shirt that starts tomorrow morning! They are working with Brian Yuzna (the original producer) on the shirt, and I must say it looks awesome and I have to have one. 

In even more exciting news, they also teamed up with Barbara Crampton (the lovely Megan) to on a killer limited-edition screen print (that glows in the mo'fuckin' dark) that she will be hand signing for everyone lucky enough to get theirs hands on one. 

There are a couple other shirts available, one based on the artwork for the special edition soundtrack that was released on vinyl a few months back and groovy design of Dr. Hill holding his own little head. 

So, pre-orders start tomorrow but the poster has been limited to 175, so get on there early and snatch yours up before they're all gone!

Head here to check out all the juicy details.

THE PURGE Comes to DVD/Blu-Ray on October 8th, Now There's No Keeping It Out of Your House!


The Purge, the not-quite-flop-not-quite-hit from Platinum Dunes and Blumhouse Pictures, will be making it's way to DVD and Blu-Ray on October 8th, just in time for the Halloween season. 

In case you haven't heard of it yet: 

"In an America wracked by crime, the government has sanctioned an annual 12-hour period in which any and all criminal activity—including murder—is legal. The police can’t be called. Hospitals suspend help. It is one night when the citizenry regulates itself without thought of punishment. On this night plagued by violence and an epidemic of crime, one family wrestles with the decision of who they will become when a stranger comes knocking."  

Only one special feature has been announced, "Surviving the Night: The Making of The Purge": “In this exclusive behind-the-scenes featurette, viewers discover how an act of road rage inspired writer and director James DeMonaco to create The Purge, what attracted the cast to the project and how the world of 2022 depicted in the film mirrors the world today. Featuring exclusive interviews with stars Ethan Hawke, Lena Headey, Adelaide Kane, Max Burkholder and Edwin Hodge, this featurette asks the question: What would it take for The Purge to become reality?

I have yet to see this one, and while I haven't heard the most savory of things, you can expect a review when the DVD is released. 

I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 Will Receive World Premiere at UK FrightFrest


The highly anticipated follow up to Steven R. Monroe's I Spit On Your Grave will make it's world premier at this year's UK FrightFest in London's iconic Leicester Square on August 25th. A special "festival edition" has been prepared for the event, and this will be the first audience to feast their eyes on the blood and carnage that it's sure to deliver.

Steven R. Monroe returns to the directors chair for the sequel, which I think is great. I was a bit hesitant upon hearing the news, but knowing that he's behind it gives me hope. New comer Jemma Dallendar has the leading role. 

Naturally beautiful, Jessica has just settled into New York where she, like many other young women, is trying to make it as a model. But what starts out as an innocent and simple photo shoot soon turns into something disturbingly unthinkable! Raped, tortured and kidnapped to a foreign country, Jessica is buried alive and left to die. Against all odds, she manages to escape. Severely injured, she will have to tap into the darkest places of the human psyche to not only survive, but to exact her revenge…

After it's premier at FrightFest, the film will be making it's way to DVD and Blu Ray on September 24th. 

Thanks to Bloody-Disgusting for the trailer: 

 

SCENIC ROUTE - Best Friends Turn Savage Enemies In This New Flick from Vertical Entertainment


Josh Duhamel (Transformers) and Dan Fogler (Balls of Fury) star in the new horror flick Scenic Route from distribution company Vertical Entertainment:

Mitchell (Josh Duhamel) and Carter (Dan Fogler), life-long friends who have drifted apart, are on a road trip when their old pickup breaks down, leaving them stranded on an isolated desert road. Nobody can pick apart a man like his best friend, and as the relentless elements of the desert grind them down, they start to attack each other’s life decisions with unwavering brutality. As they question who they are and who they could have been, their agitation leads to physical confrontation and ultimately knife-wielding madness, and what begins as an inconvenience becomes a very real life or death struggle.

What a great idea for a flick, and the trailer looks like it's going to be plenty intense. Seems like a great mix of physical violence and psychological trauma, the thought of going through that with your best friend is terrifying all in it's own. It's similar to the psychological aspects of The Evil Dead but let less demonic and more grounded. 

Check out the trailer below!



 

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

HORROR ON TV - First Teaser for AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN Has Been Released!


It's here! The first teaser for American Horror Story: Coven. In true AHS fashion, it doesn't show much, but still, there's more than meets the eye. Set to the famous blues tune "The House of the Rising Sun" (made famous by The Animals) and pays tribute to Blaubart, the dance-theater piece by Pina Bausch. What does it mean and how does it tie into this new season of AHS? I don't know, but I'm interested to find out. Check out the trailer and sound off in the comments! 

 

POLTERGEIST Casting Moves Forward - Sam Rockwell in Running to Star


The reboot of Tobe Hooper's 1980's supernatural franchise is well on it's way with this juicy piece of news: Sam Rockwell (Iron Man 2, The Green Mile) is being heavily considered to star in the modern re-visioning of Poltergeist.

If he is cast, he will be starring opposite the already confirmed Rosemarie DeWitt. The project is being helmed by director Gil Kenan (Monster House) and is being produced by Sam Raimi and Nathan Kahane. 

Not much news other than that has been heading out of the camp, but as I'll be keepin' ya posted as it rolls in. 

- Rg Lovecraft

HORROR ON BLU-RAY: Scream Factory Releasing Special Edition DAY OF THE DEAD


It's a happy day for Romero fans, Scream Factory has announced the release of Day of the Dead, Romero's 1985 installation in his "Dead" franchise. 

In Day: A small group of scientists and soldiers have taken refuge in an underground missile silo where they struggle to control the flesh-eating horror that walks the earth above. But will the final battle for the future of the human race be fought among the living or have they forever unleashed the hunger of the dead?” 

Featuring revolutionary special effects by horror FX mastermind Tom Savini, the special edition blu-ray is packed full of tasty special features. It's enough to make any zombie fanatic drool:

Day of the Dead Bonus Features:
 
New High Definition Transfer
New Documentary – World’s End: The Legacy of “Day of the Dead
NEW! UNDERGROUND: A Look into the DAY OF THE DEAD mines
Audio Commentary with writer/director George A. Romero, Special Make-up Effects artist Tom Savini, Production Designer Cletus Anderson and actress Lori Cardille
Audio Commentary with filmmaker Roger Avary
Behind-The-Scenes Footage from Special Make-up Effects Creator Tom Savini’s archives
Photo Galleries
Theatrical Trailers
TV Spots
And more…


Get a copy of your own September 17, 2013. 

- Rg Lovecraft

SNOWPIERCER - Dumbed Down for American Release to Appeal to 'Oklahoma' and 'Iowa' Markets


I'm pretty sure I've posted about this one before, but if I haven't, you're hearing about it now. I am extremely excited about this film, it looks and sounds amazing. Atleast it did, until The Weinstein Company got their grubby little paws all over it.

I have to tip my hat to Bloody-Disgusting.com, as they posted an article about this today and I felt so compelled to share my own thoughts on the matter that here we are. 

Snowpiercer, directed by Bong Joon-Ho (The Host), is slaying in Korea. Released on August 1st, it sold 3.3 million tickets in 5 days. Holy shit, that's insane. It's got an incredible cast, Chris Evans and Tilda Swinton alone set it apart, and the story is even better: The film is set in a future where a runaway experiment to stop global warming has caused an ice age that killed nearly all life on the planet. The only survivors are the inhabitants of the 'Snowpiercer', a massive train that travels around the planet and is powered by a perpetual-motion engine. Over time a class system evolves on the train, with the elites inhabiting the front of the train and poor inhabiting the back of the train. Tired of their poor living conditions, the riders in the back revolt, attempting to seize control of the engine, which the elites in the front consider sacred. 

And here's where it gets fun. The internet has been exploding over the news that The Weinstein Company (who have distribution rights in America) is demanding that Bong cut 20 minutes off the run time to make sure the film "will be understood by audiences in Iowa... and Oklahoma", according to film critic and programmer Tony Rayns.  What the fuck? 

Rayns goes on to say, "Leaving aside the issue of what Weinstein thinks of its audience, it seems to say the least anomalous that the rest of the English-speaking world has to be dragged down to the presumed level of American mid-west hicks.” According to Rayns, Bong stated that the cuts will largely affect character development, effectively turning the film into an action film. Weinstein will be adding opening and closing voice-overs, to assist those not capable enough to follow the film on their own in understanding the deep complexities of the film. 

What a crock of shit. Not only is this a huge insult to the American public and their intelligence, it's a crime to jeopardize the artistic integrity of a directors film in an attempt to dull it down for what you consider to be redneck hicks in the midwest. As horror fans, this should infuriate each and every one of us because this is yet another problem that we have to deal with in the pursuit of trying to see what these directors originally intend for us to see. The Evil Dead trilogy fell prey to it and it's very sad to see that not much has changed. 

Check out the trailer below, and please, chime in with your thoughts. 


- Rg Lovecraft
 

When The Dead Should Stay Dead - SEE NO EVIL Returns With A Sequel


WWE Studios has been on a role lately, with their latest flick The Call pulling in a good 53 million and change. So much so, that they went scrambling back to their filing cabinet and decided to resurrect 2006's See No Evil starring Kane. Some part of me is still hoping that this emerges as a joke, but that seems highly unlikely as the amazing dynamic (and identical) duo, The Soska Sister (American Mary) are attached to direct. That could the final saving grace, in my opinion. 

So, are you excited to Jacob Goodnight return to the Blackwell Hotel? Sound off in the comments.

- Rg Lovecraft

Monday, August 5, 2013

Horror on TV: Details Emerge for AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN


Believe it or not, summer is about to come to a close (Labor Day looms, but a month away) and for fans of horror based TV, that means the return of FX's American Horror Story. From the get-go I was extremely excited about this show, the trailers promised everything I would love about a horror based television show, and it was everything I wanted in horror-tv. Alteast for the first half of the season. However, the second season completely renewed by faith in the series, and I am anxiously awaiting its return in late September. 

For those of you who may not be familiar, the series has an interesting format. Each season presents a new story, new characters, new environments and new settings, however, retaining much of the same cast. It's pretty cool, and it worked really well with this last season. This season they will be bringing back cast members from season 2, some from season 1 and some new ones that I think will really nail it this year. 

Aside from the fact that I am already a fan of the series, this season is going to be based in and around my favorite city, and some of my favorite folk-lore of all time: New Orleans, and it's voodoo background. (In case you aren't picking up on it, this is wet-dream fodder for me). 

Some casting details have emerged for American Horror Story: Coven, which will follow the story of witches throughout time, based in quaint 'ol New Orleans. 

Jessica Lange, the recurring star of AHS, will be playing a witch named Fiona. She has remarked in interviews that the show will take place in several different eras, so we will be seeing a lot of different stories. This sounds like it will be similar to last years AHS: Asylum. 

Sarah Paulson, one of my favorites from last year, will be playing Lange's daughter, Cordelia. 

I'm very excited about this one, the amazing Kathy Bates will be joining the AHS cast this year and she will be playing Madame Delphine LaLaurie a wealthy 19th century Louisiana-born socialite/serial killer who was known for the torture and murder of her slaves. Her story is that of legend in New Orleans. Look it up, it's plenty interesting. 

The most exciting bit of casting new for me is that of Angela Bassett being cast as none other than Marie Laveau, the Voodoo Queen. Laveau is probably the most legendary figure to come out of New Orleans, a figure of mythology and huge historical impact, you can still visit her grave-site (which has become a sort of shrine) in the Big Easy. 

 I cannot wait for this season, it promises to be pure magic (teehee, no pun intended). For you AHS fans, also plan on seeing Frances Conroy, Evan Peters, Taissa Farmiga and Lily Rabe return to the screen as well as new comer Gabourey Sidibe (Precious).  

Jason Eisener's ONE LAST DIVE Reaffirms All My Fears of Natural Bodies of Water

Jason Eisener (Hobo With a Shotgun) has mastered the art of the short horror film, with One Last Dive, a story that will have you thinking twice before going for a dip at the lake/beach/river/anything-besides-the-pool. This is why I don't swim in that shit. 

 

Thursday, August 1, 2013

Brand New Red Band Trailer for CURSE OF CHUCKY


Any Chucky fans out there? A brand new red band trailer for the new Brad/Fiona Dourif team up effort has hit the interwebs, and while I'm not a huge Child's Play fan, I do think that I'll be checking it out. 


In Curse of Chucky: "After her mother's mysterious death, Nica begins to suspect that the talking, red-haired doll her visiting niece has been playing with may be the key to recent bloodshed and chaos."

And thanks to Bloody-Disgusting for the trailer! 

 

Warner Bros. Release Full Packaging Details for THE EXORCIST 40th Anniversary Blu-Ray!


Considering that this is one of my all-time favorite horror films, I'm quite excited about this news. While the price tag is a bit hefty ($49.99 MSRP), I can't wait to bring it home myself, especially considering all the nifty swag you'll be getting. I mean, you better be getting something special for that price! 

A few days ago, Warner gave us all a peek inside the packaging for the special edition, 40 year anniversary deluxe Blu-Ray for The Exorcist (read my review here), and it looks AWESOME. 

Available on October 8th, the blu-ray focuses heavily on the genius behind it, Mr. William Friedkin, including an excerpt of his memoir The Friedkin Connection: A Memoir, as well as the new featurette "Beyond Comprehension: William Peter Blatty's The Exorcist"

According to Bloody-Disgusting.com, Friedkin is being honored by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films where he will receive the lifetime achiement award later this month, in addition to the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the 70th Venice International Film Festival. It's a big year for Friedkin. To honor the 40 year anniversary of the film, Friedkin and Blatty will be attending a screening of the film in Washington D.C. on October 30th and the film will have an exclusive run at AMC Georgetown from October 31st through November 7th. 

Here are the full-specs for this very special edition: 

– Beyond Comprehension: William Peter Blatty’s The Exorcist (NEW) 40 years after his    novel was published, The Exorcist author, screenwriter and producer returns to where it all began. First stop is a cabin/guest house in the hills of Encino, California, where Blatty wrote the novel. The author visits the place for the first time in 40 years and shares not only memories of writing the book, but also discusses how it inspired him. We then meet Blatty in two key and iconic locations; Georgetown University where the film was shot, and at the now-famous Exorcist steps. Throughout, Blatty reads from his novel, including an excerpt from a chilling newly published passage.
– Talk of the Devil (NEW) – While at Georgetown University, William Peter Blatty heard about a true case of possession from Father Eugene Gallagher. At the time the film came out, the priest talked at length about exorcism, the true story and about Blatty; this footage is now available for the first time in many years. It is as revealing as it is shocking.
-Two Commentaries by William Friedkin

-Commentary by William Peter Blatty
-Introduction by William Friedkin
-1998 BBC Documentary “The Fear of God: 25 Years of the Exorcist”
-Raising Hell: Filming the Exorcist Set footage produced and photographed by Owen Roizman, camera and makeup tests, and interviews with director William Friedkin, actress Linda Blair, author/screenwriter/producer William Peter Blatty and Owen Roizman.
-The Exorcist Locations: Georgetown Then and Now — Featuring a tour of the iconic locations where the film was shot.
Faces of Evil: The Different Versions of The Exorcist — with director William Friedkin and author/screenwriter/producer William Peter Blatty discussing the different versions of the film and featuring outtakes from the film.
-Original Ending
-Interviews: The Original Cut, Stairway to Heaven, The Final Reckoning
-Sketches & Storyboards
-Radio Spots
-TV Spots
-Trailers
-Premium:Excerpt of The Friedkin Connection: A Memoir


 

BAD MILO - Your Ass Will Never Be The Same Again


I love, love, love horror-comedies and it looks like we got another one heading our way. Ken Marino (Wet Hot American Summer, Role Models) stars in the raunchy Bad Milo, in which a demon (who has taken residence in his colon) is "birthed" and subsequently must be made friends with in order to control. Sign me up. 

The trailer looks hilarious, and it has a supporting cast that makes me even more intrigued to check it out. Catch the trailer after the break!